Free Shipping in Australia on over 5 million books in stock
The State We're In By Adele Parks

The State We're In

In Stock
$16.49
inc. GST
Sunday Times bestseller Adele Parks gets right to the heart of the dilemmas women - and men - face in their lives in this unforgettable and heart-wrenching novel of love, loss, and the secrets we all keep.
8 in stock

The State We're In Summary


The State We're In: An intriguing novel of love and possibility by Adele Parks

What are the odds that the stranger sitting next to you on a plane is destined to change your life? Especially when they appear to be your opposite in every way...

The No. 1 ebook bestseller, The State We're In, is the stunning, emotionally powerful novel from Sunday Times bestseller Adele Parks, author of The Stranger In My Home. The perfect read for fans of Jane Green and Sheila O'Flanagan.

Jo is a hopeless romantic. Worried she let her soulmate slip away, she's chasing her past all the way to Chicago to break up her ex-fiance's wedding.

Dean is a resolute cynic. After a brief (but not brief enough) trip to London, he's returning to Chicago, where he moved to escape his dysfunctional past.

In the time it takes to fly from London to Chicago, each finds something in the other that they didn't even realise they needed.

But it's only when they get off the plane that their true journey begins...

What readers are saying about The State We're In:

'This book is full of surprises and twists that keep you guessing until the end. It is one of those books that I was absolutely devastated to have finished'

'You will laugh, you may cry, but on the whole it is an extremely heart-warming tale that delivers a generous dose of optimism'

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

The State We're In Reviews


Sweet, sharp and simply unforgettable -- Lisa Jewell
A wonderful exploration of love -- Katie Fforde
A must read. Romantic, yet truthful, this is a moving love story with unforgettable characters -- Jenny Colgan
A heart-warming, heart breaking tale of love and loss, with an ending that will knock you off your feet. This is Adele Parks at the top of her game -- Mike Gayle
Utterly engrossing and beautifully written -- Freya North
A fairy tale with bite. Sparkly, compelling and - ultimately unexpected -- Jane Fallon
Adele Parks' wonderful and heart breaking new novel will stay with you -- Chris Manby
Adele Parks is a deft observer of human nature -- Kathleen Tessaro
A thrilling cross-generational love story. We can't think of many authors who create more flawed and loveable characters * Glamour *
This is Adele Parks at her very best * Fabulous *
A heart-breaking twist * Mail On Sunday *
Written with wit, and finishes with a surprisingly bittersweet twist * Sunday Mirror *
An emotional rollercoaster of a read * Woman & Home *
Well observed, original and wonderfully crafted, this is my favourite Adele Parks book to date * Sun *
An emotional punch of an ending * Good Housekeeping *
A big final twist that will keep you reading * Heat *
A sweet, moving and romantic story that will captivate you from the first page * Closer *
The story is completely mesmerising, and the ending heartbreakingly epic. Adele has created a cast of characters that completely cover the moral spectrum. The State We're In is a superb triumph * We Love This Book *
This book made me laugh, caught at my heart and then broke it. The story is clearly building to something but I didn't know what - I won't spoil it but this is definitely not one for public transport * A Case for Books *
A perceptive insight into family life, both idyllic and dreadful, and the individuals that are part of it. The characters are all people that you can believe in...and the ending? It's an absolute stunner! * Our Book Reviews *
A cleverly written and tragically beautiful story filled with empathy and regret, that will stay in your thoughts for a long time, The State We're In is a story of love, family, abandonment and putting ghosts to rest. A haunting tale that will leave you in floods. This truly is Adele Parks at her best, I can't recommend this book enough * Handwritten Girl *
This novel has been tenderly and beautifully written and will stay with me * A Lover Of Books *

About Adele Parks


Adele Parks worked in advertising until she published her first novel in 2000. Since then, her many Sunday Times bestsellers have been translated into twenty-six different languages. Adele spent her adult life in Italy, Botswana and London until 2005 when she moved to Guildford, where she now lives with her husband and son. Adele believes reading is a basic human right, so she works closely with The Reading Agency as an Ambassador for Reading Ahead, a programme designed to encourage adult literacy. Meet Adele! Visit her website for the latest news on her upcoming events: www.adeleparks.com, head to Facebook for exclusive extras: facebook.com/OfficialAdeleParks and chat with Adele on Twitter @adeleparks.

Additional information

GOR010509504
The State We're In: An intriguing novel of love and possibility by Adele Parks
Adele Parks
Used - Like New
Paperback
Headline Publishing Group
2014-01-16
448
0755371399
9780755371396
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.