Free Shipping in Australia on over 5 million books in stock
The Lydgate Widow By Alexandra Connor

The Lydgate Widow

Used Price
$31.99
inc. GST
Free Shipping in Australia
The Lydgate Widow is a moving saga of family ties, class struggles and true love, from much-loved author Alexandra Connor.

Only 2 left


The Lydgate Widow Summary


The Lydgate Widow: A heartrending saga of tragedy, family and love by Alexandra Connor

Life has been hard for Adele Ford. Will she ever find the happiness she deserves?

Alexandra Connor writes a moving saga in The Lydgate Widow, the tale of a young woman facing unbearable heartache, and her ultimate triumph over adversity. Perfect for fans of Rita Bradshaw and Catherine Cookson.

Adele Ford's clearest childhood memory is of her father telling her about the enigmatic Lydgate Widow, whose abandoned house dominates the village. But the stories end abruptly on the day Adele and her sister are orphaned, and they grow up with only each other to rely on.

Adele finds work in an antiques shop, but when a wrongful accusation robs her of her reputation, her future looks bleak. So it's not hard for Col Vincent, a successful businessman, to persuade Adele to marry him. Adele grows to love him - until she realises that her husband is a violent man. In the 1930s, a woman who leaves her husband faces penury. Somehow Adele survives, and then news comes that will transform her life, bringing back the haunting memory of the Lydgate Widow - and the man who has loved Adele for decades...

What readers are saying about The Lydgate Widow:

'Thoroughly enjoyed this book... a brilliant ending that binds all characters together. This is the first book that I have read by this author, and it won't be the last'

'A superb read - five stars'

Customer Reviews - The Lydgate Widow


Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

The Lydgate Widow Reviews


'Powerful and engrossing' * Bolton Evening News *

About Alexandra Connor


Born in Lancashire and educated in Yorkshire, Alexandra Connor has had a rich variety of careers, including photographic model, cinema manager and PA to a world famous heart surgeon, but it is as a novelist that she has found her real forte. As well as writing over twenty acclaimed historical novels she has also written thrillers and non-fiction art books. When she isn't busy writing, Alexandra is a highly accomplished painter. She is also a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts.

Additional information

GOR000952315
The Lydgate Widow: A heartrending saga of tragedy, family and love by Alexandra Connor
Alexandra Connor
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Headline Publishing Group
2007-01-25
448
0755323742
9780755323746
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.