Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
Lying Dead By Aline Templeton

Lying Dead by Aline Templeton

Condition - Very Good
$15.49
10 in stock

Summary

If you like Inspector Wexford, you'll love DI Marjory Fleming . . . Brilliant classic crime thriller for fans of Ruth Rendell and Peter James.

Lying Dead Summary

Lying Dead: DI Marjory Fleming Book 3 by Aline Templeton

If you're looking for a gripping new crime series, you'll love Aline Templeton. Featuring DI Marjory Fleming - 'Big Marge' - and set in Galloway. If you enjoy novels by Ann Cleeves, Faith Martin, Val McDermid and LJ Ross, try Lying Dead.

'The crime czar of the Scottish small town!' Val McDermid

On a beautiful, eerily quiet May morning in a remote corner of Scotland, a girl is found brutally bludgeoned to death, the silence of the scene broken only by the ringing of her mobile telephone.

DI Marjory Fleming thrives on the adrenalin and tension that come with heading a major crime investigation, but with the discovery of not one, but two murdered corpses on her patch, she's about to feel the pressure like never before . . .

The community of Drumbreck - a tranquil weekend playground for rich Glaswegians - is small and close-knit. But the veneer of contented prosperity conceals nasty secrets and daily betrayals. DI Fleming must watch her own back as she searches for a link between the two crimes. Uncovering layer upon layer of intrigue and deceit, Fleming is about to learn that while the dead can't tell lies, the living most certainly can . . .

Reader reviews:

'A must read for all detective story fans'

'Highly recommended, Aline deserves greater recognition as a crime writer'

'This book has everything. Well drawn characters, humour, pathos a wonderful plot and I never guessed whodunnit!'

Lying Dead Reviews

I loved every minute of LYING DEAD and to top it off the answer to the whodunit is staggeringly well-concealed and yet obvious in retrospect, and one I certainly didn't guess. * Karen Meek, Eurocrime *
I loved every minute of LYING DEAD and to top it off the answer to the whodunit is staggeringly well-concealed and yet obvious in retrospect, and one I certainly didn't guess. * Karen Meek, Eurocrime *
'A fascinating cast of possible villains is explored in this skilfully plotted and well-paced novel, each vividly described, entirely believable and never sliding into the usual parodies of country folk. But its real strength is DI Marjory Fleming, both tough and vulnerable as she struggles to track down the killer . . . This book is a delight, from its leisurely start to the moving and unexpected finish. Even better, it's the second in a series, so there's more pleasure to come.' * Guardian on THE DARKNESS AND THE DEEP *
A welcome addition to the canon of Scottish crime fiction .. packed with red herrings and believable characters * Press and Journal *
A welcome addition to the canon of Scottish crime fiction .. packed with red herrings and believable characters * Press and Journal *
'Not for Templeton gruesome bodies strewn across the landscape left and right, here the emphasis is on character, motive and situation, building into an impressive whole. I'm sure it won't be long before I have to write "the best-selling Aline Templeton". This is seriously good crime writing.' * Sue Baker, 'Personal Choice', Publishing News *
'In fictional terms the combination of domesticity and detection is very appealing, especially when it comes with a detailed, vivid portrayal of a complete society . . . an interesting, atmospheric and - I predict - televisual series.' * Literary Review *
An unalloyed pleasure - an intelligent, character-driven crime novel. * Andrew Taylor on COLD IN THE EARTH *
[Aline Templeton] has demonstrated that, just when we thought Scotland was saturated with detectives, a strong woman can elbow her way in and find a unique niche. * Scotsman on COLD IN THE EARTH *
'It is always a pleasure to read Aline Templeton, but THE DARKNESS AND THE DEEP must surely be her best book to date. Aline's characters are so beautifully drawn . . .' * J Wallis Martin *
A compelling read. * Margaret Yorke on COLD IN THE EARTH *
'Loved it' * Val McDermid on THE DARKNESS AND THE DEEP *

About Aline Templeton

Aline Templeton lives in Edinburgh with her husband, in a house with a balcony built by an astronomer to observe the stars over the beautiful city skyline. She has worked in education and broadcasting and has written numerous articles and stories for newspapers and magazines. Her books have been published in translation in several European countries as well as in the United States.

Additional information

GOR001191124
9780340922279
0340922273
Lying Dead: DI Marjory Fleming Book 3 by Aline Templeton
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Hodder & Stoughton General Division
2008-01-24
432
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - Lying Dead