Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
We Are Giants By Amber Lee Dodd

We Are Giants by Amber Lee Dodd

Condition - Like New
$11.99
Only 2 left

Summary

For fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Wonder, this is a novel about a girl whose mum has dwarfism. But it's not just about that. It's about love, family, friendship, and how to be happy. It's about all of us.

We Are Giants Summary

We Are Giants by Amber Lee Dodd

'A total page-turner...very moving and touching.' JACQUELINE WILSON

A brilliantly funny and wonderfully warm-hearted story about love, family, and what it means to be different.

Sydney thinks her mum Amy is the best mum in the world - even if she is a bit different. When everyone else kept growing, Amy got to four feet tall and then stopped right there. The perfect height, in Sydney's opinion: big enough to reach the ice cream at the supermarket, small enough to be special. Sydney's dad died when she was only five, but her memories of him, her mum's love and the company of her brave big sister Jade means she never feels alone . . .

But when the family are forced to move house, things get tricky. Sydney and Jade must make new friends, deal with the bullies at their new school and generally figure out the business of growing up in a strange new town.

And Sydney doesn't want to grow up - not if it means getting bigger than her mum...

We Are Giants Reviews

A total page-turner...very moving and touching. * Jacqueline Wilson *
It deals with topics that would be familiar to a lot of 9-12 year olds...refreshing and heartwarming, without being too sickly - well worth a read! * Waterstone's Books Quarterly *
This book will have you well and truly hooked from the opening chapter [...] It's a truly wonderful and touching book that doesn't shy away from some important and sensitive issues. We loved it to bits! * ReaditDaddy *
An engaging story that will appeal to fans of Jacqueline Wilson... The story weaves in a very informative explanation of the challenges of dwarfism through the prejudice and practical challenges Sydney's mum has to face in her daily life... -- Sue Magee * The Bookbag *
...a touching and sensitive book, told with great insight and understanding; it is always realistic, does not gloss over the problems but gives a positive and encouraging spin. * Parents In Touch *
For readers of Lara Williamson and R J Palacio, this debut promises to be an original and warm-hearted take on grief, growing up and living with a disability. -- Fiona Noble * The Bookseller *
You can really relate to what they feel and think ... it's wonderfully written -- Kat Winter - Guardian Children's Books Site Young Reviewer * The Guardian *
It was refreshing to see such a diverse family ... I found myself wrapped up in the story and read it in one sitting. It is a book that will keep you turning the pages wanting more ... A truly thoughtful and moving read. * BookLoverJo *
There is lots to talk about within the book and lots to like about it too. It doesn't set out to be too complex, but tells a story by wholeheartedly bringing its characters to life. The story has giant heart - although of course, size doesn't matter -- Clare Zinkin * Minerva Reads *
We Are Giants is one of those books that I didn't know I needed in my life until I owned it, but now that I do it has pride of place. I hope many readers find this treasure. * Luna's Little Library *
An important story that will stay with you for years to come. We Are Giants is a beautiful book about growing up, moving on and accepting who we are. Sydney is a heroine who will climb into your heart and stay there. -- Jane Elson, author
This moving drama brings a fresh perspective to the diversity of family life. It is a positive and uplifting story, with fun characters and an emotional depth, that remains a light entertaining read. -- Alex Strick * The Booktrust *
I would thoroughly recommend this book to readers of all ages and abilities. The author has taken what could have been quite heavy subject matter and made it charming and engaging if not a little emotional at times. * The Codpast *

About Amber Lee Dodd

Amber Lee Dodd is a writer and playwright whose work has been performed around the country and published internationally. Amber drew on extensive experience working with families dealing with disabilities to write WE ARE GIANTS. She says:This experience led me to writing characters the children wanted but scarcely appear in children's fiction: disabled people who are strong, happy and independent. These children come from ordinary backgrounds, with parents and siblings who deal with the problems we all deal with. My book is not a book about disability; it's a book about grief and growing up. It features a strong mother character who just happens to have a disability.

Amber has also recently been a writer in residence for The Expansionists and a playwright for the young playwrights programme at Chichester Festival Theatre, where her short play 'Tea with Grandma' was performed. She was awarded a Distinction in her MA in Creative Writing at Chichester University.

Additional information

GOR008230669
9781784294212
1784294217
We Are Giants by Amber Lee Dodd
Used - Like New
Paperback
Hachette Children's Group
2016-04-07
256
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins

Customer Reviews - We Are Giants