Free Shipping in Australia on over 5 million books in stock
Meet Me Under the Clock By Annie Murray

Meet Me Under the Clock

Used Price
$25.49
inc. GST
Free Shipping in Australia
Two families. Two wartime loves. Their lives changed forever . . .

Only 4 left


Meet Me Under the Clock Summary


Meet Me Under the Clock by Annie Murray

Growing up in Birmingham, Sylvia and Audrey Whitehouse have always been like chalk and cheese. When the Second World War breaks out, Sylvia is still dreaming of her forthcoming marriage to fiance Ian while Audrey jumps at the career opportunities the WAAF throws her way.

Audrey joins the ranks at RAF Cardington but soon finds that her new freedom also brings temptation. When she goes too far, the consequences ripple through the Whitehouse family. Meanwhile Sylvia is doing her bit as a railway porter, much to Ian's dismay. Ian thinks the job is unfeminine - unlike Sylvia's new friend Kitty, who is as sweet and pretty as can be. But Kitty's innocent nature hides a dark secret . . .

As the pressures of rationing, bombing raids and sleepless nights grow, the two sisters must decide what they really want from life and if they're brave enough to fight for it.

A heart-breaking yet inspiring novel, Annie Murray's Meet Me Under the Clock is perfect for fans of Margaret Dickinson and Katie Flynn.

Customer Reviews - Meet Me Under the Clock


Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Meet Me Under the Clock Reviews


'Annie Murray's superbly drawn characters will live with you long after you have finished reading' Margaret Dickinson

About Annie Murray


Annie Murray was born in Berkshire and read English at St John's College, Oxford. Her first 'Birmingham' novel,Birmingham Rose, hit The Times bestseller list when it was published in 1995. She has subsequently written many other successful novels, including A Hopscotch Summer, Soldier Girl and the bestselling novels Chocolate Girls andWar Babies. Now The War Is Over is Annie's twentieth book. Annie has four children and lives near Reading.

Additional information

GOR005858396
Meet Me Under the Clock by Annie Murray
Annie Murray
Used - Very Good
Hardback
Pan Macmillan
2014-02-01
528
0230769934
9780230769939
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.