Free Delivery In Australia
The Silver Swan (Quirke Mysteries) By Benjamin Black

The Silver Swan (Quirke Mysteries)
by Benjamin Black

The second Quirke novel from Man Booker prize-winning John Banville, writing as Benjamin Black

Only 2 left

The Silver Swan Summary

Time has moved on for Quirke, the world-weary Dublin pathologist first encountered in Christine Falls. It is the middle of the 1950s, that low, dishonourable decade; a woman he loved has died, a man whom he once admired is dying, while the daughter he for so long denied is still finding it hard to accept him as her father. When Billy Hunt, an acquaintance from college days, approaches him about his wife's apparent suicide, Quirke recognises trouble but, as always, trouble is something he cannot resist. Slowly he is drawn into a twilight world of drug addiction, sexual obsession, blackmail and murder, a world in which even the redoubtable Inspector Hackett can offer him few directions.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Additional information

The Silver Swan (Quirke Mysteries)
Benjamin Black
Very Good
Pan Macmillan
Short-listed for Irish Book Awards: RTE Radio 1's The Tubridy Show Listeners' Choice Award 2008 Short-listed for Hughes & Hughes Irish Novel of the Year Award 2008
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.