Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
The Butterfly Cabinet By Bernie McGill

The Butterfly Cabinet by Bernie McGill

Condition - Very Good
$14.99
Only 1 left

Summary

A secret shared. Two lives entwined. Finally the past must come to light.

The Butterfly Cabinet Summary

The Butterfly Cabinet by Bernie McGill

An unforgettable story of two women linked by their roles in a tragedy at the end of the Victorian era, THE BUTTERFLY CABINET by Bernie McGill will appeal to fans of THE VANISHING ACT OF ESME LENNOX or THE SUSPICIONS OF MR WHICHER, and was singled out by Julian Fellowes as his Book of the Year in the Guardian.

On a remote estate in the north of Ireland, a little girl dies, and the community is quick to condemn her mother, Harriet Ormond. Now, after seventy years, Maddie McGlade, a former nanny at the house, knows the time has come to reveal her own role in the events of that day.

From Maddie's reminiscences and Harriet's long-concealed diaries emerges an unforgettable story of motherhood and betrayal, and of two women, mistress and servant, inextricably connected by an extraordinary secret.

The Butterfly Cabinet Reviews

'Beautifully done and thoroughly absorbing' * Daily Mail *
'An absorbing story of marriage, motherhood and murder' * Woman and Home *
'An intense exploration of maternal love and guilt' * Financial Times *
'Exceptionally accomplished' * Ulster Tatler *
'Utterly compelling... a haunted tale, pitch perfect in tone' * Marie Claire *
'Assured and very readable, holding plenty of promise for the future' * Irish Independent *
'McGill has the ability to enter the brain and heart of her characters and so to make us sympathise with people who commit acts we abhor' * Julian Fellowes, creator of Downton Abbey *

About Bernie McGill

Bernie McGill was born and raised in Northern Ireland and attended Queen's University, Belfast. Her first novel, The Butterfly Cabinet, was published by Headline Review in 2011. Bernie is also the author of Sleepwalkers, a collection of short fiction (shortlisted for the Edge Hill Short Story Prize) and a contributor to three acclaimed anthologies of Irish women writers, The Long Gaze Back, The Glass Shore and Female Lines (New Island, 2015, 2016 & 2017). She has numerous theatre credits to her name. Bernie lives in Portstewart, Northern Ireland, with her family.

Additional information

GOR008195920
9781472240217
1472240219
The Butterfly Cabinet by Bernie McGill
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Headline Publishing Group
20161006
400
null null null null null null null null null null
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - The Butterfly Cabinet