Free Shipping in Australia on over 5 million books in stock
Super Boys By Brad Ricca

Super Boys

In Stock
$50.99
inc. GST
In the vein of "Schulz and Peanuts" comes the first comprehensive literary biography of Joe Shuster and Jerry Siegel, creators of "Superman," the first ever full biography about the creators.
Only 1 left

Super Boys Summary


Super Boys: the Amazing Adventures of Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster - the Creators of Superman by Brad Ricca

Unfortunately we do not have a summary for this item at the moment

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Super Boys Reviews


"The title "Super Boys "says it all . . . the truly amazing biography of two of the most important names in popular fiction." --Stan Lee

"An American icon drawn with compassion and verve. A must read for heroes everywhere." --Jeph Loeb, author of Superman For All Seasons and writer/producer of Smallville

"No square panels or word balloons can contain Ricca's gripping effervescence: it's headier than a bird or a plane or a speeding bullet." --Tracy Daugherty, author of "Just One Catch

""Beautiful and heartbreaking." --Brad Meltzer, "New York Times" bestselling author

"As a citizen of the modern world, you need to read this book." --Neal Adams


"Compulsively readable... Ricca's comprehensive biography reveals the turmoil and creative genius that led to our most enduring superhero, the Man of Steel." - Publishers Weekly

"The title "Super Boys "says it all . . . the truly amazing biography of two of the most important names in popular fiction." --Stan Lee

"An American icon drawn with compassion and verve. A must read for heroes everywhere." --Jeph Loeb, author of Superman For All Seasons and writer/producer of Smallville

"No square panels or word balloons can contain Ricca's gripping effervescence: it's headier than a bird or a plane or a speeding bullet." --Tracy Daugherty, author of "Just One Catch

""Beautiful and heartbreaking." --Brad Meltzer, "New York Times" bestselling author

"As a citizen of the modern world, you need to read this book." --Neal Adams


"A wonderful book, as exciting as Michael Chabon's The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay."

-Booklist, starred boxed review

"An admirably thorough account of Siegel and Shuter's long struggle to get their creation published...That they came up with the first bona fide superhero, thus helping change popular culture and sowing the seeds of a multi-million dollar industry, is a remarkable accomplishment, which Ricca recounts grippingly." - The New York Times Book Review

"Compulsively readable... Ricca's comprehensive biography reveals the turmoil and creative genius that led to our most enduring superhero, the Man of Steel." - Publishers Weekly

"Thoroughly researched... speaks to the treatment of artists by corporate America and its relationship to truth and justice. Written in a breezy, accessible style, this title will have wide appeal, especially to those whose views on the American way were shaped by comics, television shows, and movies featuring the Man of Steel. --Library Journal

"The title "Super Boys "says it all . . . the truly amazing biography of two of the most important names in popular fiction." --Stan Lee

"An American icon drawn with compassion and verve. A must read for heroes everywhere." --Jeph Loeb, author of Superman For All Seasons and writer/producer of Smallville

"No square panels or word balloons can contain Ricca's gripping effervescence: it's headier than a bird or a plane or a speeding bullet." --Tracy Daugherty, author of "Just One Catch

""Beautiful and heartbreaking." --Brad Meltzer, "New York Times" bestselling author

"As a citizen of the modern world, you need to read this book." --Neal Adams


A wonderful book, as exciting as Michael Chabon's The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay. "Booklist, starred boxed review"

An admirably thorough account of Siegel and Shuter's long struggle to get their creation published...That they came up with the first bona fide superhero, thus helping change popular culture and sowing the seeds of a multi-million dollar industry, is a remarkable accomplishment, which Ricca recounts grippingly. "The New York Times Book Review"

Compulsively readable... Ricca's comprehensive biography reveals the turmoil and creative genius that led to our most enduring superhero, the Man of Steel. "Publishers Weekly"

Thoroughly researched... speaks to the treatment of artists by corporate America and its relationship to truth and justice. Written in a breezy, accessible style, this title will have wide appeal, especially to those whose views on the American way were shaped by comics, television shows, and movies featuring the Man of Steel. "Library Journal"

The title "Super Boys "says it all . . . the truly amazing biography of two of the most important names in popular fiction. "Stan Lee"

An American icon drawn with compassion and verve. A must read for heroes everywhere. "Jeph Loeb, author of Superman For All Seasons and writer/producer of Smallville"

No square panels or word balloons can contain Ricca's gripping effervescence: it's headier than a bird or a plane or a speeding bullet. "Tracy Daugherty, author of Just One Catch"

Beautiful and heartbreaking. "Brad Meltzer, New York Times bestselling author"

As a citizen of the modern world, you need to read this book. "Neal Adams""


"A wonderful book, as exciting as Michael Chabon's The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay." --Booklist, starred boxed review

"An admirably thorough account of Siegel and Shuter's long struggle to get their creation published...That they came up with the first bona fide superhero, thus helping change popular culture and sowing the seeds of a multi-million dollar industry, is a remarkable accomplishment, which Ricca recounts grippingly." --The New York Times Book Review

"Compulsively readable... Ricca's comprehensive biography reveals the turmoil and creative genius that led to our most enduring superhero, the Man of Steel." --Publishers Weekly

"Thoroughly researched... speaks to the treatment of artists by corporate America and its relationship to truth and justice. Written in a breezy, accessible style, this title will have wide appeal, especially to those whose views on the American way were shaped by comics, television shows, and movies featuring the Man of Steel." --Library Journal

"The title Super Boys says it all . . . the truly amazing biography of two of the most important names in popular fiction." --Stan Lee

"An American icon drawn with compassion and verve. A must read for heroes everywhere." --Jeph Loeb, author of Superman For All Seasons and writer/producer of Smallville

"No square panels or word balloons can contain Ricca's gripping effervescence: it's headier than a bird or a plane or a speeding bullet." --Tracy Daugherty, author of Just One Catch

"Beautiful and heartbreaking." --Brad Meltzer, New York Times bestselling author

"As a citizen of the modern world, you need to read this book." --Neal Adams

About Brad Ricca


BRAD RICCA earned his Ph.D. in English from Case Western Reserve University where he currently teaches. He has spoken on comics at various schools and museums, and he has been interviewed about comics topics by The New York Daily News, The Wall Street Journal, and All Things Considered on NPR. His film Last Son won a 2010 Silver Ace Award at the Las Vegas International Film Festival. He lives in Cleveland, Ohio.

Additional information

GOR007217529
Super Boys: the Amazing Adventures of Jerry Siegel and Joe Shuster - the Creators of Superman by Brad Ricca
Brad Ricca
Used - Very Good
Hardback
Griffin Publishing
2013-07-15
0312643802
9780312643805
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.