Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
The Waking Land By Callie Bates

The Waking Land by Callie Bates

Condition - Very Good
$20.89
6 in stock

Summary

Magic. Adventure. Intrigue. Romance. Revolution. The first in an astonishing new trilogy, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sarah J. Maas.

The Waking Land Summary

The Waking Land by Callie Bates

'Jump on the wagon now, because I think Bates is an author well worth watching' Robin Hobb

It's been fourteen years, since King Antoine took Elanna hostage. Fourteen years since her father's rebellion failed. Fourteen years spent being raised by the man who condemned her people to misery. A man she's come to love as a father.

Now 20, Elanna is about to be taken prisoner once again... but this time by her father's mysterious righthand man.

Her father wants to reignite his rebellion, this time using Elanna as figurehead. He will tell his followers she is the legendary Wildegarde reborn, a sorceress who could make the very earth tremble.

But what no one knows is that magic really does flow through Elanna's veins. Now she must decide which side she's on, and whether she'll use her powers for mercy... or revenge.

A bold and gorgeous fantasy featuring a brilliant heroine on the cusp of womanhood, The Waking Land is the first of a trilogy that will delight fans of The Red Queen, Six of Crows, and Court of Thorns and Roses.

~*~*~Wildegarde came bearing a flame in her heart and her hair crowned with the pale light of stars. Where she placed her feet, the earth trembled. Where she raised her hand, mountains moved.~*~*~

The Waking Land Reviews

Jump on the wagon now, because I think Bates is an author well worth watching -- Robin Hobb
A simmering tale of magic that builds to a raging inferno, and hits like a cross between Brandon Sanderson and Pierce Brown. -- Scott Sigler
Callie Bates has written an exciting and involving first book, and she is clearly a writer of real talent . * Terry Brooks *
A heartbreaking, enchanting, edge-of-the-seat read that held me captive from start to finish! -- Tamora Pierce
The Waking Land is all about rising to challenges, and it succeeds wonderfully. -- Charlaine Harris
The kind of enthusiastic fantasy debut that is always fun to wade into... For readers who delight in folklore-based fantasy, it's a joy to power through * SciFiNow *

About Callie Bates

Callie Bates is a writer, harpist and certified harp therapist, sometimes artist, and nature nerd. When she's not creating, she's hitting the trails or streets and exploring new places. She lives in the Upper Midwest. Her debut fantasy novel, THE WAKING LAND, is forthcoming in 2017. She occasionally writes nonfiction. Her essays have appeared in Shambhala Sun, The Best Buddhist Writing 2012, All Things Girl and online journals.

Additional information

GOR008509625
9781473638723
1473638720
The Waking Land by Callie Bates
Used - Very Good
Hardback
Hodder & Stoughton General Division
2017-06-27
400
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - The Waking Land