Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
Over 7 million books in stock
We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
Morgan: Three Plays By Charles Morgan

Charles Morgan by Charles Morgan

Condition - Very Good
Only 2 left


Three bitingly intelligent post-war plays from one of Britain's most underrated dramatists, collected together for the first time, with an introduction by academic Carole Bourne-Taylor. These insightful, modernist dramas fiercely question British high society, religion, war and sexuality, in masterful prose.

Charles Morgan Summary

Charles Morgan: Three Plays: The Flashing Stream / The River Line / The Burning Glass by Charles Morgan

"Charles Morgan was a distinguished novelist before he moved onto stage drama, with his reputation as a major dramatist established by his first play, The Flashing Stream. Morgan was unique for combining the roles of principal dramatic critic of The Times with that of a practicing dramatist. The Daily Herald wrote that The Flashing Stream would 'indefinitely refute the old idea about the gulf between our preaching and the practice'. It was hailed as 'a masterpiece' by the Manchester Guardian, and also drew praise from The Telegraph who noted that 'it handles a major problem of humanity with passion and intelligence'. The combination of serious themes with dramatic tension and masterly craftsmanship was continued in his other plays, The River Line and The Burning Glass, which are also included in this collection."

Charles Morgan Reviews

""Always a thrilling experience' - Harold Hobson on The River Line "Mr. Charles Morgan has written the play, not only of the year, but of the decade in which we live." - Ludovic Kennedy on The Burning Glass "Utterly gripping - wholly enthralling" - Daily Telegraph on The River Line "This overlooked classic is highly engaging - Like a fantastic Greek tragedy transposed to post-war Europe, The River Line works its themes of death, grace and regret to powerful effect." - Time Out London"

About Charles Morgan

"Charles Langbridge Morgan (22 January 1894 - 6 February 1958), was an English-born playwright and novelist of English and Welsh parentage. The main themes of his work were romantic love, mysticism, and a longing for the timeless and sublime through telling the stories of idealistic and artistic protagonists. On the outbreak of war he rejoined the navy but was sent with Churchill's Naval Division to the defence of Antwerp. He was interned in Holland which provided the setting for his bestselling novel The Fountain. His first play, The Flashing Stream (1938), had successful runs in London and Paris. The River Line (1952) was originally written as a novel in 1949 and concerned the activities of escaped British prisoners of war in France during World War II. He was awarded the Legion of Honour in 1936, a promotion in 1945, and was elected a member of the Institut de France in 1949. From 1953 he was the president of International PEN ."

Table of Contents

"Foreword 7 Introduction 9 The Flashing Stream 19 The River Line 129 Introduction to The River Line 131 The Burning Glass 219"

Additional information

Charles Morgan: Three Plays: The Flashing Stream / The River Line / The Burning Glass by Charles Morgan
Used - Very Good
Oberon Books Ltd
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - Charles Morgan