Free Shipping in Australia on over 5 million books in stock
Across The Red River By Christian Jennings

Across The Red River

Used Price
$17.49
inc. GST
Free Shipping in Australia
Christian Jennings arrived in Rwanda with an impossible mission: he had five days to track down the army officers and government ministers responsible for the slaughter of 850,000 people and persuade them to participate in a TV documentary about their crimes. Nothing in his past prepared him for the three and a half years that followed.

Only 2 left


Across The Red River Summary


Across The Red River: Across the Red River (HB) by Christian Jennings

"When seven Burundian paratroopers booted down the door of my hotel room and arrested me, I was wearing nothing but a towelling dressing-gown. With angry movements of their Kalashnikovs, they gestured to me to get dressed. What, I wondered in that long, slow-motion second before the fear kicked in, do you wear to your own execution? Would the Gap jeans do one more day?" In the summer of 1994, Christian Jennings arrived in Rwanda with an almost impossible mission: he had five days to track down the army officers and government ministers responsible for the slaughter of 850,000 people and persuade them to participate in a TV documentary about their crimes. He had $15,000 taped to his thigh, a satellite phone, thirty feet of rope, 18 litres of mineral water and a good command of French. Nothing in his past prepared him for the three and a half years that followed.

Customer Reviews - Across The Red River


Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

About Christian Jennings


SALES POINTS Across the Red River is an epic account of the terror and beauty of Central Africa, both moving and harrowing in its detail, and frequently appallingly funny In the tradition of Anyone Here Been Raped and Speaks English and We Wish to Inform You that Tomorrow We Will Be Killed with Our Families '[A] remarkable and important book' Scotsman 'Jennings rips open the baffling politics behind one of the greatest tragedies of the 20th century' FHM '[With an] eye for detail and a novelist's ear for dialogue ... Christian Jennings has starkly documented the greatest humanitarian disaster since the Nazi holocaust in readable and surprisingly humorous prose' Daily Mail 'Jennings broad-brush pastiche [goes] a long way to explain why Africa is a continent in crisis' The Times

Additional information

GOR001580490
Across The Red River: Across the Red River (HB) by Christian Jennings
Christian Jennings
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Orion Publishing Co
2001-02-01
360
0575400285
9780575400283
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.