WorldOfBooks
Free Delivery In Australia
Currency:
AUD $ AUD
Goodbye Piccadilly: War at Home, 1914 By Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Goodbye Piccadilly: War at Home, 1914
by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

The year is 1914. The village is Northcote. The house is The Elms. The family is the Hunters. Goodbye, Piccadilly is the start of an epic family drama set against the evocative backdrop of World War I by the author of The Morland Dynasty novels.
We have 6 items

Add to Wishlist

Goodbye Piccadilly: War at Home, 1914 Summary


In 1914, Britain faces a new kind of war. For Edward and Beatrice Hunter, their children, servants and neighbours, life will never be the same again. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and Barbara Taylor-Bradford. For David, the eldest, war means a chance to do something noble; but enlisting will break his mother's heart. His sister Diana, nineteen and beautiful, longs for marriage. She has her heart set on Charles Wroughton, son of Earl Wroughton, but Charles will never be allowed to marry a banker's daughter. Below stairs, Cook and Ada, the head housemaid, grow more terrified of German invasion with every newspaper atrocity story. Ethel, under housemaid, can't help herself when it comes to men and now soldiers add to the temptation; yet there's more to this flighty girl than meets the eye. The once-tranquil village of Northcote reels under an influx of khaki volunteers, wounded soldiers and Belgian refugees. The war is becoming more dangerous and everyone must find a way to adapt to this rapidly changing world. Goodbye Piccadilly is the first book in the War at Home series by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles, author of the much-loved Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the real events of 1914, Goodbye Piccadilly is extraordinary in scope and imagination and is a compelling introduction to the Hunter family.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Additional information

Sku
GOR006211053
Title
Goodbye Piccadilly: War at Home, 1914
Author
Condition
Very Good
Binding type
Paperback
Publisher
Little, Brown Book Group
Year published
Number of pages
400
ISBN 10
0751556289
ISBN 13
9780751556285
Prizes
N/A
Cover note
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual cover or edition may vary.
Note
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.