Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
How to be Perfect Like Me By Dana Bowman (Dana Bowman)

How to be Perfect Like Me by Dana Bowman (Dana Bowman)

Condition - New
$44.89
Only 2 left

Summary

In this funny and revealing follow-up to her best-selling book Bottled, Dana Bowman reflects on how we live in a society of excess, always pushing ourselves to do and be better. However, it doesn't take her long to realize that self-care and getting over herself is the key to happiness.

How to be Perfect Like Me Summary

How to be Perfect Like Me by Dana Bowman (Dana Bowman)

Rinse. Repeat. Recover. Dana Bowman can't escape the lure of perfectionism - like so many people today - trying to be a flawless wife, mother and person in recovery. When Dana experiences a short-lived relapse during the Christmas holiday, she has the startling realisation that recovery is not only about the alcohol. In this funny and revealing follow-up to Bottled, Dana reflects on how we live in a society of excess, always pushing ourselves to do it all. However, it doesn't take her long to realise that self-care and getting over herself is the key to happiness.

How to be Perfect Like Me Reviews

The Library Journal Bowman, Dana. How To Be Perfect Like Me. Central Recovery. Aug. 2018. 264p. ISBN 9781942094715. pap. $16.95. MEMOIR

English professor, blogger, and author (Bottled: A Mom's Guide to Early Recovery) -Bowman's memoir covers the topics of parenting and recovery with candor and honesty. As is obvious from the title, the author is not actually offering a step-by-step guide to anything in particular. She is making the case that perfectionism is an enemy to recovery and happiness. The many short chapters, with often hilarious titles, such as "How To Relapse in Footie Pajamas" or "How To Cry at a Coffee Shop," mainly consist of anecdotes within an achronological narrative that at times feels downright scattered. Imperfection is the thematic thread that holds Bowman's stories together. Some readers might be frustrated by how frequently she changes topics, but one could argue that the nonlinear text accurately reflects the messy experience of recovery. VERDICT Readers in recovery who are looking for relatable stories will enjoy this book. Bowman's brand of humor (highly personal, a bit outlandish, and often infused with pop-culture references) will appeal to fans of Jenny Lawson.--Emily Butler, Deerfield Academy, MA

About Dana Bowman (Dana Bowman)

Dana Bowman has a master's degree in secondary education and is lecturer at the department of English at Bethany College, Kansas. Author of the popular mombsieblog.com, she leads and presents workshops on both writing and addiction, with a special emphasis on being a woman in recovery and a parent. Her first book, Bottled, was selected as a 2016 Kansas Notable Book.

Additional information

NGR9781942094715
9781942094715
194209471X
How to be Perfect Like Me by Dana Bowman (Dana Bowman)
New
Paperback
Central Recovery Press
2018-08-30
264
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a new book - be the first to read this copy. With untouched pages and a perfect binding, your brand new copy is ready to be opened for the first time

Customer Reviews - How to be Perfect Like Me