Free Shipping In Australia
Currency:
AUD $ AUD
Jamaica Inn By Daphne Du Maurier

Jamaica Inn
by Daphne Du Maurier

In Stock
$12.99
+10% GST

* By one of the 20th century's best loved storytellers.
* A classic tale of murder, mystery and passion - compare to Wuthering Heights.

126 in stock

Jamaica Inn Summary


Jamaica Inn by Daphne Du Maurier

After the death of her mother, Mary Yellan crosses the windswept Cornish moors to Jamaica Inn, the home of her Aunt Patience. There she finds Patience a changed woman, downtrodden by her domineering, vicious husband Joss Merlyn. The inn is a front for a lawless gang of criminals, and Mary is unwillingly dragged into their dangerous world of smuggling and murder. Before long she will be forced to cross her own moral line to save herself.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Jamaica Inn Reviews


Daphne du Maurier has no equal * Sunday Telegraph *
A true classic * Amazon.com *
Jamaica Inn is perhaps the most accomplished historical romance ever written * Good Book Guide *
Jamaica Inn is a first-rate page-turner * The Times *
A dark tale. A brilliant thriller * Daily Express *
A perfect fusion of gothic romance and a young woman's rite of passage in the vein of Twilight and Wuthering Heights * Independent *
A dark tale. A brilliant thriller * Daily Express *

About Daphne Du Maurier


Daphne du Maurier (1907-89) was born in London, the daughter of the famous actor-manager Sir Gerald du Maurier and granddaughter of George du Maurier, the author and artist. In 1931 her first novel, The Loving Spirit, was published. A biography of her father and three other novels followed, but it was the novel Rebecca that launched her into the literary stratosphere and made her one of the most popular authors of her day. In 1932, du Maurier married Major Frederick Browning, with whom she had three children.
Many of du Maurier's bestselling novels and short stories were adapted into award-winning films, including Alfred Hitchcock's The Birds and Nicolas Roeg's Don't Look Now. In 1969 du Maurier was awarded a DBE. She lived most of her life in Cornwall, the setting for many of her books.

Additional information

GOR001198923
Jamaica Inn by Daphne Du Maurier
Daphne Du Maurier
Used - Good
Paperback
Little, Brown Book Group
2003-03-06
320
1844080390
9781844080397
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact and the cover is intact. Some minor wear to the spine.