Free Shipping In Australia
Preston Falls By David Gates

Preston Falls
by David Gates

Out of Stock
$17.49
inc. GST
The supposed answer to Doug's mid-life crisis is a sabbatical at his rural retreat in Preston Falls, restoring the run-down farmhouse, reading and watching summer gently turn to autumn. Instead, he descends into Dewars-and-cocaine-fuelled disarray, embarking on a different journey altogether.
Only 0 left

Preston Falls Summary


Preston Falls by David Gates

The answer to Doug Willis' mid-life crisis is a sabbatical at his rural retreat in Preston Falls, two months spent restoring the faded splendour of the farmhouse, reading Dickens in the evening and watching summer gently fade to autumn. But following a marathon whiskey drinking session, a disastrous attempt to tear out the living room ceiling and an incident with a sheriff at a local campsite, Willis ends his first weekend away in jail, and it's clear the wired, burned-out New York copy-writer within is still very much to the fore. And while Willis' wife Jean struggles to pay the bills and raise their sullen, sceptical kids, Willis' 'break' crumbles into Dewars- and Cocaine-fuelled disarray, and embarks on another kind of journey altogether.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

About David Gates


SALES POINTSPreston Falls confirms David Gates as a master of sharp observation, dark truths and private longings-a writer in the tradition of Russell Banks and Richard Ford 'Beautifully written . . . Gates [has a] pitch-perfect ear for contemporary speech . . . and a keen, journalistic eye' New York Times'What gives Preston Falls its jittery buzz, and its intelligence and charm, is Gates' ever sharp ear for dialogue, for the wisecracks and half-veiled hostilities that pass for communication' People 'A fierce and gleefully perverseaccount of mid-life crisis . . . An apocalyptic satire that reminds us why his previous novel, Jernigan, was nominated for the Pulitzer Prize' Arena 'Davi

Additional information

GOR004481157
Preston Falls by David Gates
David Gates
Used - Good
Paperback
Orion Publishing Co
2000-01-06
352
057506823X
9780575068230
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.