Cart
Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
Over 5 million books in stock
We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
Surgeons' Hall By E. S. Thomson

Surgeons' Hall by E. S. Thomson

Condition - Very Good
$34.99
Only 1 left

Summary

A gripping and darkly atmospheric thriller set in Victorian London, perfect for fans of The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, The Strangers Diaries and The Silent Companions.

Surgeons' Hall Summary

Surgeons' Hall: A dark, page-turning thriller by E. S. Thomson

'Superb' Sunday Express


A gripping and darkly atmospheric thriller set in Victorian London, perfect for fans of The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, The Strangers Diaries and The Silent Companions.


What secret grips Corvus Hall?

Visiting the Great Exhibition to view the wax anatomical models of the famous but reclusive Dr Silas Strangeway, Jem Flockhart and Will Quartermain find a severed hand, perfectly dissected and laid out amongst the exhibits. Assuming it to be a prank by medical students they return it to Dr Strangeway, who works at Corvus Hall, a private anatomy school run by Dr Alexander Crowe - once one of Edinburgh's most revered anatomists. Jem's persistence reveals that a body does indeed lie in the school's mortuary, minus its right hand. The body has no provenance. More macabre still, its face has been dissected making identification impossible.

All is not as it should be at Corvus Hall. Dr Crowe's daughter, Lilith, visits the mortuary in the dead of night. Her twin sisters, Sorrow and Silence - one blind and one deaf - exert a malign influence over the students. Organs, freshly dissected, appear in the anatomical museum. Fear grips lecturers and students, even as something unseen binds them in a bloody pact of silence.


Praise for E. S. Thomson's novels:


'Gothic. Gory. Glorious . . . E. S. Thompson's Jem Flockhart books are the best I've read in years. Jem is just my kind of heroine: scarred, smart, complex, and unapologetically queer' Kirsty Logan, author of The Gloaming

'Love evocative descriptions of Victorian London and brilliant plotting? Then grab a copy of this!' Rebecca Griffiths, author of The Primrose Path

'Here's a tale of Victorian London to freeze your blood on a cold winter's night' Evening Telegraph

'Jem Flockhart's London is vivid, pungent and perilous' Chris Brookmyre

'Complex, harrowing and highly enjoyable' Daily Express

'A marvellous, vivid book' Janet Ellis

'Jem Flockhart is a marvel . . . This vivid journey into the dark side of the human soul is a thoroughly engrossing tale' Mary Paulson Ellis, author of The Other Mrs Walker

Surgeons' Hall Reviews

Superb * Sunday Express *
Praise for E. S. Thomson:
Vivid, pungent and perilous -- Chris Brookmyre
Gothic. Gory. Glorious . . . E. S. Thompson's Jem Flockhart books are the best I've read in years. Jem is just my kind of heroine: scarred, smart, complex, and unapologetically queer -- Kirsty Logan
Evocative . . . brilliant plotting -- Rebecca Griffiths
Here's a tale of Victorian London to freeze your blood on a cold winter's night -- Evening Telegraph
A marvellous, vivid book -- Janet Ellis
Jem Flockhart is a marvel . . . This vivid journey into the dark side of the human soul is a thoroughly engrossing tale -- Mary Paulson Ellis
You can almost feel the evil miasma rising from the page * Kirkus Reviews *
This outstanding debut historical enthrals with its meticulously researched details * Library Journal *
To be savoured -- Lesley McDowell * The National *
From the first page to the last, I enjoyed every brilliantly written, and often hideous, detail . . . A splendid read * Cambridge Magazine *

About E. S. Thomson

E. S. Thomson's work has been longlisted for the CWA Endeavour Historical Dagger, and shortlisted for the Saltire Prize, the Scottish Arts Council First Book Award and the William MacIlvanney Crime Book of the Year Award. She has a PhD in the social history of medicine, and tries to fit as much medical history into her books as possible. She works as a university lecturer by day, and writes by night. Elaine lives in Edinburgh with her two sons.

Additional information

GOR009718014
Surgeons' Hall: A dark, page-turning thriller by E. S. Thomson
Used - Very Good
Hardback
Little, Brown Book Group
2019-03-21
368
1472126610
9781472126610
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.

Customer Reviews - Surgeons' Hall