Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
The Cleaner By Elisabeth Herrmann

The Cleaner by Elisabeth Herrmann

Condition - Very Good
$23.49
Only 1 left

Summary

Pools of blood, scenes of carnage, signs of agonising death - who deals with the aftermath of violence once the bodies have been taken away? Judith Kepler has seen it all. The murder victim knew Judith's secret: as a child Judith was sent to an orphanage under mysterious circumstances - parentage unknown.

The Cleaner Summary

The Cleaner: A gripping thriller with a dark secret at its heart by Elisabeth Herrmann

An unforgettable heroine. An unforgivable past. For fans of Child 44, The Lives of Others and Stasi Child, The Cleaner is a gripping thriller that will chill and intrigue as the sins of the past catch up with the secrets of the present. Pools of blood, scenes of carnage, signs of agonising death - who deals with the aftermath of violence once the bodies have been taken away? Judith Kepler has seen it all. She is a crime scene specialist. She turns crime scenes back into habitable spaces. She is a cleaner. It is at the home of a woman who has been brutally murdered that she is suddenly confronted with her own past. The murder victim knew Judith's secret: as a child Judith was sent to an orphanage under mysterious circumstances - parentage unknown. And the East German secret police were always there, in the background. . . . When Judith begins to ask questions, she becomes the target of some powerful enemies. And nothing will ever be the same again.

The Cleaner Reviews

Herrmann has created a modern classic with this absorbing, exciting literary thriller which combines the addictive lure of a page-turner with a weightier, terrifying back story. Anyone interested in the Cold War, spy stories, or crime fiction in general will find something to love here. Judith Kepler - the cleaner of the title - is a wonderful creation, fighting for her own personal truth in a life trashed by East v West in-fighting and subterfuge. At times, it reminded me of Hans Fallada's Alone in Berlin - and that's high praise indeed. One of my books of the year * David Young, award-winning author of STASI CHILD *
This is a chilling story with lots of twists and turns, people with several aliases and demons from the past to dig up. The Cold War, spies, agents and double agents, mixed with the German and Swedish backdrop make it an enjoyable read * Rosie Amber Reviews Blog *
The best thing about the book is the atmosphere that it evokes. The grey, sinister threatening conditions during the Cold War and the way that this fear lingers into modern times are depicted vividly, by description of place, circumstance and impact on protagonists. The end is good and worth waiting for. * Crime Review *

About Elisabeth Herrmann

Elisabeth Herrmann is an exciting new voice in crime fiction. Her novels have captivated German readers since the publication of The Sitter in 2005 and have reached a broader audience with the subsequent adaptation into TV movies of The Sitter and The Cleaner. Elisabeth lives in Berlin with her daughter.

Additional information

GOR010705233
9781786580245
1786580241
The Cleaner: A gripping thriller with a dark secret at its heart by Elisabeth Herrmann
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Manilla
2017-04-26
464
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - The Cleaner