Free Shipping In Australia
Uncle's Dream And Other Stories By F. M. Dostoevsky

Uncle's Dream And Other Stories
by F. M. Dostoevsky

In Stock
+10% GST
This second volume of Dostoyevsky's shorter fiction contains "White Nights", "The Honest Thief", "A Christmas Tree Party and "A Wedding", "A Faint Heart", "The Little Hero", "A Gentle Spirit", "Uncle's Dream", "The Dream of a Ridiculous Man", "An Unpleasant Predicament".
5 in stock

Uncle's Dream And Other Stories Summary

Uncle's Dream And Other Stories: A Weak Heart; White Nights; Uncle's Dream; the Meek Girl by F. M. Dostoevsky

Gone is the contained, brooding, dream-prone atmopshere of his earlier stories; instead "Uncle's Dreams" is narrated with firm objectivity, combining satire, social reportage, puppet theatre and farce in its comic send-up of small-town manners and morals.Dostoyevsky's inspiration for "The Meek Girl" came from a newspaper report on the suicide of a seamstress who plunged from a garret window, holding a religious icon in her hands. According to the critic John Jones, it is "one of the most powerful studies of despair in world literature, a banging on closed doors imagined with abosolute fearlessness."

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

About F. M. Dostoevsky

David McDuff's translations for Penguin Classics include Dostoyevsky's Crime and Punishment, The Brothers Karamazov and The Idiot, and Babel's short stories. Fyodor Mikhailovich Dostoevsky was born in Moscow in 1821. His debut, the epistolary novella Poor Folk(1846), made his name. In 1849 he was arrested for involvement with the politically subversive 'Petrashevsky circle' and until 1854 he lived in a convict prison in Omsk, Siberia. From this experience came The House of the Dead (1860-2). In 1860 he began the journal Vremya (Time). Already married, he fell in love with one of his contributors, Appollinaria Suslova, eighteen years his junior, and developed a ruinous passion for roulette. After the death of his first wife, Maria, in 1864, Dostoyevsky completed Notes from Underground and began work towards Crime and Punishment (1866). The major novels of his late period are The Idiot (1868), Demons(1871-2) and The Brothers Karamazov (1879-80). He died in 1881.

Additional information

Uncle's Dream And Other Stories: A Weak Heart; White Nights; Uncle's Dream; the Meek Girl by F. M. Dostoevsky
F. M. Dostoevsky
Used - Very Good
Penguin Books Ltd
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.