Free Shipping In Australia
Scenes of Clerical Life By George Eliot

Scenes of Clerical Life
by George Eliot

Out of Stock
inc. GST
"Scenes of Clerical Life" is George Eliot's first novel. Three stories make up the "Scenes", "The Sad Fortunes of the Reverend Amos Barton", "Mr Gilfil's Love Story", and "Janet's Repentance".
Only 0 left

Scenes of Clerical Life Summary

Scenes of Clerical Life by George Eliot

When Scenes of Clerical Life, George Eliot's first novel, was published anonymously in 1857, it was immediately recognized, in the words of Saturday Review, as 'the production of a peculiar and remarkable writer'. The three stories that make up the Scenes, 'The Sad Fortunes of the Reverend Amos Barton', 'Mr Gilfil's Love Story', and 'Janet's Repentance', intriguingly foreshadow George Eliot's later work. The first readers, including Dickens and Thackeray, were struck by the humorous irony, the truthfulness of the presentation of the lives of ordinary people, and the compassionate acceptance of human weakness which characterize Eliot's writing.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Additional information

Scenes of Clerical Life by George Eliot
George Eliot
Oxford World's Classics
Used - Very Good
Oxford University Press
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.