Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
The Orphanage of Gods By Helena Coggan

The Orphanage of Gods by Helena Coggan

Condition - New
$23,09
Only 2 left

Summary

Imaginative, thrilling and highly readable fantasy novel from a bright young voice. Perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard.

The Orphanage of Gods Summary

The Orphanage of Gods by Helena Coggan

Twenty years ago, the humans came for their gods.

In the bloody revolution, gods were all but wiped out. Ever since, the children they left behind have been imprisoned in an orphanage, watched day and night by the ruthless Guard. Any who show signs of divine power vanish from their beds in the night, all knowledge of their existence denied.

No one has ever escaped the orphanage.

Until now.

Seventeen-year-old Hero is finally free - but at a terrible price. Her sister has been captured by the Guard and is being held in a prison in the northern sea. Hero desperately wants to get her back, and to escape the murderous Guardsmen hunting her down. But not all the gods are dead, and the ones waiting for Hero in the north have their own plans for her - ones that will change the world forever . . .

As she advances further and further into the unknown, Hero will need to decide: how far is she willing to go to do what needs to be done?

************

Praise for THE ORPHANAGE OF GODS


'A twisting story full of surprises and rich, complex characters. Helena has created a beautifully written world of injustice, bravery and friendship' - Claire North, author of THE FIRST FIFTEEN LIVES OF HARRY AUGUST

'Vivid and intense. Helena Coggan had me on the edge of my seat to the final page of this gripping new YA fantasy' - Amanda Bouchet, USA Today bestselling author of The Kingmaker Chronicles

'Helena Coggan's lyrical story of gods and humans kept me riveted to the page. The plot pulses with action and the characters are beautifully complex. This is a book that sparks with adrenaline and longing, all the way to the final page' - Rebecca Ross, author of The Queen's Rising

'If you're looking for a dark but lyrical fantasy then this is the book for you' - Lace and Dagger Books

'[THE ORPHANAGE OF GODS] was entertaining while still having a lot of depth . . . I would definitely recommend it to others' - Readers Enjoy Authors Dreams

'This book. This BOOK! I loved it. Seriously. An all-encompassing total love. It's my favourite book that I've read in a long time!' - 5-STAR reader review

The Orphanage of Gods Reviews

PRAISE FOR THE ORPHANAGE OF GODS * - *
A twisting story full of surprises and rich, complex characters. Helena has created a beautifully written world of injustice, bravery and friendship. * Claire North, author of THE FIRST FIFTEEN LIVES OF HARRY AUGUST *
Vivid and intense. Helena Coggan had me on the edge of my seat, wondering who would betray, who would kill, and who would survive to the final page of this gripping new YA fantasy * Amanda Bouchet, USA Today bestselling author of The Kingmaker Chronicles *
Helena Coggan's lyrical story of gods and humans kept me riveted to the page. The plot pulses with action and the characters are beautifully complex. This is a book that sparks with adrenaline and longing, all the way to the final page * Rebecca Ross, author of THE QUEEN'S RISING *
Fast-paced and action-packed. Truly thought-provoking fantasy for young adults is often harder to find. But Helena Coggan's latest novel, The Orphanage of Gods, may have uncovered the magic formula. Featuring strong female leads, and firmly ditching the 'love will conquer all' trope, The Orphanage of Gods presents women as sidekicks-turned heroes, damsels-turned-warriors, and children-turned-leaders' * Happiful Magazine *
PRAISE FOR HELENA COGGAN * : *
The next J. K. Rowling * Today Programme, USA *
This year's Divergent * Sun *
A phenomenal achievement . . . assured, frightening, action-packed * Observer *
A pulsing, labyrinthine, emotionally visceral plot * Metro *
Dark and atmospheric * Kirkus Reviews *

About Helena Coggan

Helena Coggan is a writer and student based in London. She wrote her first novel, The Catalyst, at the age of thirteen; it was published by Hodder and Stoughton two years later, and named as one of 2015's Debuts of the Year by the Guardian and Amazon. The second book in the duology, The Reaction, came out when she was sixteen. She has been called 'the next JK Rowling' by NBC's Today, and in 2016 she was named by the Guardian as one of the most influential teenagers in the world. She is currently studying physics at university, for the sole purpose of building a TARDIS one day. The Orphanage of Gods is her third novel.

Additional information

NGR9781444794731
9781444794731
1444794736
The Orphanage of Gods by Helena Coggan
New
Paperback
Hodder & Stoughton
2019-09-19
416
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a new book - be the first to read this copy. With untouched pages and a perfect binding, your brand new copy is ready to be opened for the first time

Customer Reviews - The Orphanage of Gods