Free Shipping in Australia on over 5 million books in stock
Corinna, Corinna By HELLENGA

Corinna, Corinna
by HELLENGA

In Stock
$48.99
inc. GST
For readers of Kent Haruf's "Plainsong" and Wally Lamb's "She's Come Undone, " a beautifully rendered love story about the fragility of happiness and the struggle to find one's calling in life. In "Blues Lessons, " he explores the intricate relationship between a young man and a young woman who struggle to find themselves.
Only 1 left

Corinna, Corinna Summary


Corinna, Corinna: A Novel / Robert Hellenga. by HELLENGA

Growing up on his family's orchards in Appleton, Michigan, in the 1950s, Martin Dijksterhuis finds everything he needs in his extended family and in the land itself -- in the reassuring routines of growing and harvesting, spraying and pruning. Although his mother wants him to get out of Appleton, which she finds impossibly provincial, and attend a great university -- the University of Chicago, her alma mater -- he has no desire to leave. In the autumn of his junior year of high school, however, in the camp of the migrant workers who come north every year to pick the Dijksterhuis peaches and apples, Martin discovers his vocation, the country blues -- unsettling melodies that cry out from a place in the soul he never knew existed. He also falls in love with Corinna Williams, the strong-willed daughter of the black foreman who runs the Dijksterhuis orchards. His blues vocation and his love for Corinna are the two stories of his life. His struggle to combine them into a single story takes him a long way from home and from the life he had always envisioned for himself, and then it brings him back again in a way he could never have imagined. In this beautifully rendered novel, Robert Hellenga, author of "The Sixteen Pleasures" and "The Fall of a Sparrow," explores the fragility of happiness, the difficulties of following one's calling in life, and the sorrows and satisfactions of being a parent.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Corinna, Corinna Reviews


Rebecca Radner "San Francisco Chronicle Book Review" Irresistible...A compendium of delights, overflowing with insight and passion. The funny parts are absurdly hilarious, the painful ones moving and perceptive.

Additional information

GOR009565806
Corinna, Corinna: A Novel / Robert Hellenga. by HELLENGA
HELLENGA
Used - Good
Hardback
Simon & Schuster
2002-01-28
330
0743225333
9780743225335
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.