Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
The Lavender House By Hilary Boyd

The Lavender House by Hilary Boyd

Condition - Very Good
$20.89
Only 3 left

Summary

From the author of the #1 EBOOK BESTSELLER THURSDAYS IN THE PARK, a delightfully warm and witty new novel on risking everything for a second chance at love. For fans of Erica James and Veronica Henry

The Lavender House Summary

The Lavender House by Hilary Boyd

Emotional, page-turning women's fiction from the author of #1 EBOOK BESTSELLER, THURSDAYS IN THE PARK. Will Nancy dare to risk a second chance at love with a man her family and friends tell her is totally unsuitable? Beautiful storytelling for fans of Erica James, Veronica Henry and Harriet Evans.

Nancy de Freitas is the glue that holds her family together. Caught between her ageing, ailing mother Frances, and her struggling daughter Louise, frequent user of Nancy's babysitting services, it seems Nancy's fate is to quietly go on shouldering the burden of responsibility for all four generations. Her divorce four years ago put paid to any thoughts of a partner to share her later years with. Now it looks like her family is all she has.

Then she meets Jim. Smoker, drinker, unsuccessful country singer and wearer of cowboy boots, he should be completely unsuited to the very together Nancy. And yet, there is a real spark.
But Nancy's family don't trust Jim one bit. They're convinced he'll break her heart, maybe run off with her money - he certainly distracts her from her family responsibilities.

Can she be brave enough to follow her heart? Or will she remain glued to her family's side and walk away from one last chance for love?

The Lavender House Reviews

Warm-hearted and with a beady eye, Boyd gets under the skin of her characters to show that falling in love isn't limited to the young * Sunday Express *
A warm-hearted story of families, trust and second-chance love * Sunday Mirror *
Hilary Boyd in her inimitable fashion has told the story yet again of mature love which, like an excellent vintage wine, is just waiting to burst out of its barrels, freed from the constraint of convention and the inevitable signs of ageing * My Weekly *
Boyd is as canny as Joanna Trollope at observing family life - and better than Trollope at jokes * Daily Mail *
A gentle but emotionally charged drama * Sunday Mirror *
I found myself instantly gripped . . . a romance in the Joanna Trollope vein * The Times *
Thoroughly enjoyable read . . . a real page turner * Good Housekeeping *
Poignant, well-observed and wonderfully written ... a heartstring-puller * Closer *
This story is engrossing . . . one of my favourite books of the year * Mature Times *

About Hilary Boyd

Hilary Boyd trained as a nurse at Great Ormond Street Hospital, then as a marriage guidance counselor. After a degree in English Literature at London University in her thirties, she moved into health journalism, writing a Mind, Body, Spirit column for the Daily Express. She published six non-fiction books on health-related subjects before turning to fiction and writing a string of bestsellers, starting with Thursdays in the Park. Hilary is married to film director/producer Don Boyd and lives near Chichester, West Sussex.

Additional information

GOR007649162
9781784294151
1784294152
The Lavender House by Hilary Boyd
Used - Very Good
Hardback
Quercus Publishing
2016-08-04
432
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - The Lavender House