Free Shipping in Australia on over 5 million books in stock
Dead Man in Paradise By J B MacKinnon

Dead Man in Paradise

Used Price
$15.49
inc. GST
Free Shipping in Australia
A Catholic missionary priest from Canada was shot dead one hot night in June 1965. Two policemen, who had apparently murdered him, were themselves found shot to death yards from his body. Forty years later, the priest's nephew returned to the island to investigate the murders and their background. This is his story.

Only 1 left


Dead Man in Paradise Summary


Dead Man in Paradise by J B MacKinnon

A small part of that darkness is unforgettably explored in this, J. B. Mackinnon's first book. The author's uncle, a Catholic missionary priest from Canada, was shot dead one hot night in June 1965. Two policemen, who had apparently murdered him, were themselves found shot to death yards from his body. Not long before, the US had invaded the Dominican Republic in order to prevent a mildly reformist government from coming to power; and a couple of years before that, the long, bizarre reign of the dictator Trujillo had come to an end in a bloody tangle of intrigue and violence. The mystery of the priest's death was never solved. Forty years later, his nephew returned to the island to investigate the murders and their background. His courageous research has allowed him to write a masterly combination of real life thriller, travelogue and memoir. "Dead Man in Paradise" evokes the vibrant, fevered atmosphere of a poor and beautiful country that does not encourage too much examination of its past. Mackinnon meets former generals and politicians and revolutionaries, and ageing priests and villagers who remember all too well what it was like to live in mortal fear if they dared to challenge the landowners and the police. In the tradition of Philip Gourevitch and Adam Hochschild, this is a great piece of storytelling about politics and crime.

Customer Reviews - Dead Man in Paradise


Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

About J B MacKinnon


J. B. MacKinnon is a celebrated Canadian journalist whose work has won many awards.

Additional information

GOR002878062
Dead Man in Paradise by J B MacKinnon
J B MacKinnon
Used - Very Good
Hardback
Faber & Faber
2006-08-01
224
0571231268
9780571231263
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.