Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
An Exquisite Sense of What is Beautiful By J. David Simons

An Exquisite Sense of What is Beautiful by J. David Simons

Condition - Very Good
$13.69
Only 4 left

Summary

Sir Edward Strathairn returns to the Japanese hotel where he wrote his renowned novel 'The Waterwheel', which accused America of being in denial about the Hiroshima bombing. But as we learn about Sir Edward's earlier life and his marriage to an American artist, we realise that he too may be in denial. And that his past is now catching up with him.

An Exquisite Sense of What is Beautiful Summary

An Exquisite Sense of What is Beautiful by J. David Simons

An eminent British writer returns to the resort hotel in the Japanese mountains where he once spent a beautiful, snowed-in winter. It was there he fell in love and wrote his best-selling novel, The Waterwheel, accusing America of being in denial about the horrific aftermath of the Tokyo firebombings and the nuclear destruction at Hiroshima and Nagasaki. As we learn more about his earlier life, however - as a student in Bloomsbury, involved with a famous American painter - we realise that he too is in denial, trying to escape past events that are now rapidly catching up with him. A sweeping novel of East and West, love and war, truths and denials.

An Exquisite Sense of What is Beautiful Reviews

"[A] highly accomplished and moving novel" - The Herald. "Artistic, literary and thoroughly involving... a novelist who understands the craft of writing and who, in this case, has applied it exquisitely." - Scots Whay Hae!. "[T]hat rare thing, a genuine tour-de-force, a beautifully written love story that combines political impetus, questions about art and truth, and an exotic setting once almost blown to extinction in an act of war. It is the kind of sophisticated, grown-up writing that properly intrigues, and calls to mind the best of William Boyd and Sebastian Faulks." - Lesley McDowell. "An Exquisite Sense of What is Beautiful is actually several love stories, seamlessly flitting between times, countries and historical events. (I'm sure I won't be the only one to say this, but) the prose is exquisite and beautiful. And while the main character is neither, you find yourself knowing him, understanding him, caring for him. A great read. A piece of art." - Helen Fitzgerald, author. "In the tradition of Graham Greene or William Boyd, taking in great sweeps of history without ever losing sight of the personal, the telling detail. Accomplished and compelling." - Chris Dolan. "A beautifully sensitive book portraying the inevitably damning inequalities that can arise within all human relationships, be they political, cultural, sexual or emotional. Insightful and thought-provoking." - Sara Allerton.

About J. David Simons

J. David Simons is a former lawyer and lecturer at universities in Japan and the UK and is the author of two novels, short stories and essays. His first novel, The Credit Draper, was shortlisted for the McKitterick Prize, and he has received bursaries and writing fellowships from three prestigious organisations. Having spent many years travelling the world, he now lives in Glasgow, the city of his birth.

Additional information

GOR004951850
9781908643278
1908643277
An Exquisite Sense of What is Beautiful by J. David Simons
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Saraband
2013-03-28
294
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - An Exquisite Sense of What is Beautiful