WorldOfBooks
Free Delivery In Australia
Wheel of Surya (Surya Trilogy) by Jamila Gavin

Wheel of Surya (Surya Trilogy)
by Jamila Gavin

In 1947 India is rocked by the Independence movement and partition with Pakistan. Their lives disrupted by violence, Jaspal and Marvinder are sent from their Indian village to find their father, who is a student in England. This book offers a story about culture, class, faith and family set against the backdrop of Indian independence.
We have 5 items

Add to Wishlist

Wheel of Surya Summary


The dramatic first volume in the Surya Trilogy by Whitbread award-winning author of Coram Boy, Jamila Gavin. India, August 1947: Fleeing from their burnt-out village as civil war rages in the Punjab, Marvinder and Jaspal are separated from their mother, Jhoti. Marvinder has already saved her brother's life once, but now they both face a daily fight for survival. Together they escape across India and nearly halfway around the world to England, to find a father they hardly know in a new, hostile culture... A story touching on culture, class, faith and family set against the backdrop of Indian independence and the Partition of India and Pakistan. No children's books about India conveys these issues and themes with the effortless ease of Jamila Gavin. Her diverse voice is the perfect introduction to this period of history, for fans of The Bone Sparrow, Morris Gleitzman's Once, and Katherine Rundell's The Wolf Wilder.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Additional information

Sku
GOR000978010
Title
Wheel of Surya (Surya Trilogy)
Author
Condition
Very Good
Binding type
Paperback
Publisher
Egmont UK Ltd
Year published
Number of pages
288
ISBN 10
0749747447
ISBN 13
9780749747442
Prizes
N/A
Cover note
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual cover or edition may vary.
Note
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.