Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
Over 7 million books in stock
We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
The Darkening Skies By Janet MacLeod Trotter

The Darkening Skies by Janet MacLeod Trotter

Condition - Very Good
Only 3 left


When pretty Sara Pallister's father dies she is taken in by a bullying uncle in Whitton Grange pit-town. Here she is irresistibly drawn to motorbike-riding Joe Dimarco, wild son of the extrovert Italians who run the ice-cream parlour. But as war comes and hostility to the Italians erupts into violence, Sara and Jo's passionate love seems doomed.

The Darkening Skies Summary

The Darkening Skies by Janet MacLeod Trotter

A heartbreakingly moving story of loyalty and passion: second in the Durham Trilogy. When pretty Sara Pallister's father dies leaving his farm bankrupt, she is begrudgingly taken in by her narrow-minded uncle and aunt in the mining village of Whitton Grange. Made to pay her way, Sara is hired out to Dolly Sergeant's grocer's shop where she meets funny, bashful Raymond Kirkup and his warm-hearted aunt Louie. It is through Raymond that she meets the family that is to change her life: the exotic and extrovert Italian Dimarcos who own the popular ice-cream parlour, and finds herself irresistibly drawn to leather-jacketed, motorbike-riding Joe Dimarco. But neither of their families approves the love-match and they strive to keep them apart. As the shadows of the Second World War gather and the growing hostility to the Italians erupts into violence, Sara and Joe's passionate love seems doomed. With its vivid backdrop of a pit-town strained by the tensions of war, The Darkening Skies is a vibrant and moving story of conflicting loyalties, passions and cultures. The Darkening Skies follows the award-nominated The Hungry Hills in the Durham Mining Trilogy.

The Darkening Skies Reviews

"A moving and well written tale, The Darkening Skies continues the story of the people who live in the fictitious mining community of Whitton Grange. Janet convincingly portrays the rising tide of hate that engulfs the village...There is a good deal of worry, misery and poverty. But there is also courage, warmth, and, above all hope." The Newcastle Journal "This rich slice of pit-town life shows a world which is all but forgotten." Northern Echo "I have just finished reading the fantastic novel 'The Darkening Skies' and I must say that I found your novel impossible to put down. You have written a story about prejudice, hatred and passion and you've managed to make me chuckle as well as shed a tear. You clearly are one of the genre's best writers. I hope that you keep producing more great books." J.D.B. - Malta.

About Janet MacLeod Trotter

Janet MacLeod Trotter was brought up in the North East of England with her four brothers, by Scottish parents. She is a best-selling author of 16 novels, including the hugely popular Jarrow Trilogy, and a childhood memoir, BEATLES & CHIEFS, which was featured on BBC Radio Four. Her novel, THE HUNGRY HILLS, gained her a place on the shortlist of The Sunday Times' Young Writers' Award, and the TEA PLANTER'S LASS was longlisted for the RNA Romantic Novel Award. A graduate of Edinburgh University, she has been editor of the Clan MacLeod Magazine, a columnist on the Newcastle Journal and has had numerous short stories published in women's magazines. She lives in the North of England with her husband, daughter and son. Find out more about Janet and her other popular novels at:

Additional information

The Darkening Skies by Janet MacLeod Trotter
Used - Very Good
MacLeod Trotter Books
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - The Darkening Skies