Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
Over 7 million books in stock
We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
The Planter's Bride By Janet MacLeod Trotter

The Planter's Bride by Janet MacLeod Trotter

Condition - Well Read
Only 1 left


1922:cousins Sophie and Tilly embark on whirlwind marriages that take them to India. Passionate adventurous Sophie chooses forester Tam but what secrets is he hiding? In the beautiful remote tea gardens of Assam, Tilly, pregnant and lonely, uncovers a mystery surrounding the orphaned Sophie's parents. Is Tilly's husband, too, keeping dark secrets?

The Planter's Bride Summary

The Planter's Bride: A Story of Intrigue and Passion: Sequel to the Tea Planter's Daughter by Janet MacLeod Trotter

1922: cousins and best friends, Sophie and Tilly, are looking for love and adventure. Sophie, orphaned at six, when her tea planter parents died suddenly of fever in India, has been brought up by a radical aunt in Edinburgh. Tilly meanwhile has lived a sheltered life in Newcastle. Tilly surprises everyone with a whirlwind marriage to confirmed bachelor and tea planter, James Robson, following him to India. Thinking herself in love with the charming but enigmatic forester Tam, the passionate, independent Sophie decides to follow him when he also goes to India. She longs to discover more about her mysterious parents and her early life in the tea gardens of Assam. But the harsh reality of life in India does not match the cousins' dreams. Sophie's enthusiasm for living in the jungle turns sour when Tam is bedevilled by ill-health and she receives unwanted attention from Tam's bullying boss, Bracknall. Increasingly drawn to handsome and charismatic forester Rafi Khan, Sophie discovers too late that Tam has been keeping secrets from her. Meanwhile city-girl Tilly finds herself pregnant and isolated in a tea planter's remote bungalow. When she begins to delve into Sophie's past, Tilly begins to suspect that all is not as it should be regarding the death of Sophie's parents. As long-hidden secrets come to light, the friends will be tested as never before. Set against the vivid backdrop of post First World War Britain and the changing world of India under the British Raj, THE PLANTER'S BRIDE is a stirring and passionate story of tragedy, loyalty and undying love.

About Janet MacLeod Trotter

Janet MacLeod Trotter was brought up in the North East of England with her four brothers, by Scottish parents. She is a best-selling author of 17 novels, including the hugely popular Jarrow Trilogy, and a childhood memoir, BEATLES & CHIEFS, which was featured on BBC Radio Four. Her novel, THE HUNGRY HILLS, gained her a place on the shortlist of The Sunday Times' Young Writers' Award, and the TEA PLANTER'S DAUGHTER was longlisted for the RNA Romantic Novel Award and was an Amazon top ten bestseller. A graduate of Edinburgh University, she has been editor of the Clan MacLeod Magazine, a columnist on the Newcastle Journal and has had numerous short stories published in women's magazines. Find out more about Janet and her other popular novels at:

Additional information

The Planter's Bride: A Story of Intrigue and Passion: Sequel to the Tea Planter's Daughter by Janet MacLeod Trotter
Used - Well Read
MacLeod Trotter Books
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book. We do our best to provide good quality books for you to read, but there is no escaping the fact that it has been owned and read by someone else previously. Therefore it will show signs of wear and may be an ex library book

Customer Reviews - The Planter's Bride