Free Shipping in Australia on over 5 million books in stock
If I Knew You Were Going To Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go By Judy Chicurel

If I Knew You Were Going To Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go

Used Price
$17.49
inc. GST
Free Shipping in Australia
An outstanding debut for readers of Jennifer Egan, Alice Hoffman and Anne Tyler, set in a working class Long Island community in the early 1970s.

Only 2 left


If I Knew You Were Going To Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go Summary


If I Knew You Were Going To Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go by Judy Chicurel

An outstanding debut for readers of Jennifer Egan, Alice Hoffman and Anne Tyler, set in a Long Island community in the early 1970s.

'Nostalgic, utterly compelling and very, very cool... Mind-blowingly impressive' Eva Rice, author of THE LOST ART OF KEEPING SECRETS

Judy Chicurel's exquisitely written debut evokes the atmosphere of a 1970s summer in a close-knit working class community on Long Island. For readers of Jennifer Egan, Alice Hoffman and Anne Tyler

Katie and her young friends face a changing world, with prospects very different from those presented to their parents. The Vietnam War seems pointless to many but has devastated lives that remain broken even after the fighting is over. As, with bittersweet humour, the characters' experiences unfold, daily events mirror bigger issues: an illegal abortion is plotted; the town is sinking into an economic abyss forcing Katie's friends to leave in search of more promising horizons; drugs claim the lives of those often too high to recognise the danger until it is too late; and Katie dreams of a boy back from Nam who's still fighting a battle she doesn't understand.

IF I KNEW YOU WERE GOING TO BE THIS BEAUTIFUL, I NEVER WOULD HAVE LET YOU GO touchingly conveys the magic of everyday living during a darkened time.

Customer Reviews - If I Knew You Were Going To Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go


Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

If I Knew You Were Going To Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go Reviews


'A really wonderful book that will capture your heart and occupy your thoughts' * SUNDAY MIRROR *
Raw, nostalgic, utterly compelling and very, very cool... A mind-blowingly impressive debut -- Eva Rice
'Tender and brave storytelling' * GRAZIA *
Despite the dark sides, If I Knew is gorgeous and thoughtful; a compelling, wonderful look at a particular point in time * EMERALD STREET *
Chicurel's novel has its dark moments, but the overriding sentiment is one of acceptance, resilience and the enduring power of friendship. A coming-of-age-tale with a haunting quality 4* * The Lady *
The story hooked me in so I felt the characters' pain and hope * WOMAN & HOME *
Beautifully written prose... Rarely do books evoke so viscerally a place, so tangibly a time and such a broad sweep of big themes * Hannah Beckerman *
Beautiful and heart-breaking at once. A mesmerising, compulsive combination -- Adele Parks
This book will haunt you long after you've finished * harpersbazaar.co.uk *
'A thought-provoking debut novel' * CLOSER *
'This love story set in 70s Long Island is guaranteed to have you gripped' * NOW *
Beautifully evocative * Observer *
Chicurel [is] a gifted and versatile writer, and always draws you in * Sunday Express *

About Judy Chicurel


Judy Chicurel grew up in Long Beach, Long Island. Her work has appeared in national, regional and international publications including the New York Times, Granta, and Newsday. Her plays have been produced and performed in Manhattan and India. She lives in Brooklyn, New York.

http://www.judychicurel.com/

Additional information

GOR006152464
If I Knew You Were Going To Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go by Judy Chicurel
Judy Chicurel
Used - Very Good
Hardback
Headline Publishing Group
2014-10-28
336
1472221656
9781472221650
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.