Cart
Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
Over 7 million books in stock
We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
Forbidden Fruits By Julia Hamilton

Forbidden Fruits by Julia Hamilton

Condition - Very Good
$11.99
Only 2 left

Summary

As Jack Macarthur lies on his deathbed in the Edinburgh family seat, it emerges that one of the clan has broken the code of silence that has been crucial to their respectability. The family struggles under public scrutiny as stories break of mistresses, illegitimate children and sadomasochism.

Forbidden Fruits Summary

Forbidden Fruits by Julia Hamilton

An intelligent, quality saga on the glamour, scandal and hypocrisy of the Scottish aristocracy which will appeal to readers of Rosamunde Pilcher and Penny Vincenzi. Glamorous, rich and rife with secret scandal, the clannish Macarthur family, rarely out of the glossy pages of every high society magazine, reigns over Edinburgh's wealthy New Town. However, as the formidable family patriarch, Jack Macarthur, lies on his deathbed in the Edinburgh family seat, it emerges that one of the clan has broken the strict code of silence that has been crucial to their respectability...And as the stories of mistresses, illegitimate children, homosexuality and sadomasochism break in the press, the family struggles to lead its life in the public eye...While in the heart of the storm, the beautiful Marianne Maclean, broken down by a destructive affair with Luke Macarthur; and his handsome cousin Ben Macarthur, once unconfident but now strengthened by adversity -- and the only man Marianne had ever loved -- find themselves swept up in the tide together...Deliciously scandalous, intelligent and compulsively page-turning, this quality saga will delight readers of Rosamunde Pilcher and Penny Vincenzi.

Forbidden Fruits Reviews

Praise for Other People's Rules: 'A clever story, a really good read' Rosamunde Pilcher 'First class story-telling. Other People's Rules is the best novel I've read since Captain Corelli's Mandolin... A really excellent novel.' Anne Weale 'A compelling thriller written about power and the way it can be abused.' Carla McKay, Daily Mail 'A real page turner.' Prima 'There's something deliciously Brideshead about this account of a naive young girl, falling in thrall to the aristocratic family she becomes briefly part of.' Daily Express Praise for her writing: 'A writer of the first rank -- she is compellingly readable' Evening Standard 'A subtle pen and a belief in the affirmation of love' Elizabeth Buchan, Mail on Sunday 'A thoughtful, warm, articulate novelist' Helen Dunmore, The Times

About Julia Hamilton

Julia Hamilton was brought up in Scotland and now lives in London with her two daughters. Her previous novels include Other People's Rules.

Additional information

GOR005064071
9780007114979
0007114974
Forbidden Fruits by Julia Hamilton
Used - Very Good
Paperback
HarperCollins Publishers
2002-06-05
320
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - Forbidden Fruits