Free Shipping in Australia on over 5 million books in stock
Snobs By Julian Fellowes

Snobs

Used Price
$18.49
inc. GST
Free Shipping in Australia
In this wickedly astute portrait of the intersecting worlds of aristocrats and actors, the author establishes himself as an irresistible storyteller and a deliciously witty chronicler of modern manners in contemporary--and assuredly not as classless as believed--England.

5 in stock


Snobs Summary


Snobs: A Novel by Julian Fellowes

'Fellowes doesn't try to hide his love of the funny, sealed, above-stairs world of dukes, duchesses, marquesses, nursery maids, herbaceous borders and breakfast kedgeree, all of which makes SNOBS such a a good, fresh read' Daily Telegraph Edith Lavery is a woman on the make. The attractive only child of a middle-class accountant, she leaves behind her dull job in a Chelsea estate agents and manages to bag one of the most eligible bachelors of the day - Charles Broughton, heir to the Marquess of Uckfield. But is life amongst the upper echelons of 'good' society all that it seems? Edith soon discovers there's much more to the aristocracy than dancing in Anabel's, shooting small birds and understanding which fork to use at dinner. And then there is Charles's mother, the indomitable Lady Uckfield, or 'Googie' to her friends, who is none too pleased with her son's choice of breeding partner. With twists and turns aplenty, this is a comical tale worthy of a contemporary Jane Austen.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Snobs Reviews


"Like a visit of an English country estate: breezy, beautiful, and charming." - "The""New York Times Book Review" "[A] guilty pleasure of a novel [that] seems authentic down to the wallpaper and the Wellingtons. Hilarious sharp, entertaining, and unforgiving."- Anna Quindlen ""Snobs," by Julian Fellowes, is an hilariously snobbish novel about hilariously snobbish people involved in a society scandal. Froth at its best. His writing is as stylish as his story. Mr. Fellowes knows his turf well."- Dominick Dunne"I couldn't put "Snobs" down: Who could resist a great story of a beautiful, ambitious girl on her climb to the turreted top of the castle-hopping set? As witty as he is smart, Julian Fellowes is the Oscar-winning, Oscar Wilde of the minute." - Plum Sykes "Julian Fellowes's witty, wise depiction of the lives and lunacies of upper-class English life is just my cup of tea...."- Jane Stanton Hitchcock ""Snobs" is everything you would hope for from the writer of "Gosford Park." A delicious thoroughbred delight, a guilty treat that is awake to every maddening and appallingly attractive nuance of English social life. The novel somehow contrives to be moral without being preachy or losing for a minute its gracefully shameless delight in the well bred and their satellites. A kind of Louis Auchincloss for our times, Julian Fellowes has written a book that is destined to grace all the bedside tables of all the better houses in the land."- Stephen Fry "This is the kind of book Edith Wharton would have written if she were around today."- Arnold Scaasi ""Snobs" is an insightful, funny satire of English upper-crust country life in the tradition of Mitford or Waugh....The best chick-lit book of the season was written by a man."- "The Globe and Mail" "Sparklingly rompish...As long as this world does still exist, Fellowes is a delectable guide to its absurdities."- "Sunday Times" (London) "Illu

About Julian Fellowes


Julian Fellowes is a writer, actor, director, producer and TV presenter. His acting credits include the role of Lord Kilwillie in MONARCH OF THE GLEN, as well as film roles in SHADOWLANDS, DAMAGE and TOMORROW NEVER DIES. His TV writing credits include the immensely successful DOWNTON ABBEY, and BAFTA nominated THE PRINCE AND THE PAUPER, which he also produced. His first cinema screenplay, GOSFORD PARK, won the Oscar for Best Original Screenplay. He also wrote the screenplay for THE YOUNG VICTORIA. His debut as a director, SEPARATE LIES, was released to acclaim in 2006. Julian is married to Emma, nee Kitchener, and they have one son, Peregrine. Julian Fellowes became a life peer in 2010.

Additional information

GOR004488499
Snobs: A Novel by Julian Fellowes
Julian Fellowes
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Orion Publishing Co
2012-05-10
352
1780224419
9781780224411
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.