Free Shipping In Australia
The Secrets at Ocean's Edge By Kali Napier

The Secrets at Ocean's Edge
by Kali Napier

In Stock
$16.49
inc. GST
Already a bestseller in Australia, this is a heart-rending story of a guesthouse keeper and his wife who attempt to start over, from debut author Kali Napier. For fans of The Light Between Oceans and The Woolgrower's Companion.
6 in stock

The Secrets at Ocean's Edge Summary


The Secrets at Ocean's Edge: The heart-breaking historical bestseller by Kali Napier

'One of the best books I've read this year!' Melissa Ashley, author of The Birdman's Wife

Already a bestseller in Australia, this is a haunting, memorable and moving debut of one family's search for belonging. For fans of The Light Between Oceans and The Woolgrower's Companion.

Every family has its secrets . . .

1932. Ernie and Lily Hass and their daughter, Girlie, have lost almost everything in the Depression; all they have keeping their small family together are their secrets.

Abandoning their failing wheat farm and small-town gossip, they make a new start on the west coast of Australia, where they begin to build a summer guesthouse. But forming new alliances with the locals isn't easy.

Into the Hasses' new life wanders Lily's shell-shocked brother, Tommy, after three harrowing years on the road following his incarceration. And Tommy is seeking answers that will cut to the heart of who Ernie, Lily and Girlie really are.

The Secrets at Ocean's Edge is a heart-rending story of one broken family trying to find their way in life. Kali Napier breathes a fever-pitch intensity into her emotionally fragile characters, as their secrets are revealed with tragic consequences. If you loved The Light Between Oceans and The Woolgrower's Companion, you will love this story.

'One of the best books I've read this year. I absolutely loved it. Totally gripping, beautifully written, the characterisation is superb. An absolutely stunning book. I am still thinking about it' Melissa Ashley, author of The Birdman's Wife

'Kali Napier may be a debut author but she is certainly no novice. The Secrets at Ocean's Edge is an incredible novel' Theresa Smith

'An absorbing tale of family secrets, lies, betrayal and sacrifice. The story brims with authenticity [and] kept me guessing until the very end. I found it difficult to put down' Cass Moriarty, author of The Promise Seed

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

The Secrets at Ocean's Edge Reviews


One of the best books I've read this year. I absolutely loved it. Totally gripping, beautifully written, the characterisation is superb. An absolutely stunning book. I am still thinking about it -- Melissa Ashley, author of The Birdman's Wife
This beautifully written, intense tale of a family's heart-rending search for belonging is Kali Napier's debut novel, but there's a sophistication to her storytelling. The secrets of the title unfurl slowly with hints dripping through every page * Australian Woman's Weekly *
Napier has blended fact and fiction to great effect, writing with a raw emotional power that at times, is devastating * Better Reading *
Kali Napier may be a debut author but she is certainly no novice. The Secrets at Ocean's Edge is an incredible novel, a story layered with all of the hallmarks that make for an Australian classic -- Theresa Smith
If you enjoyed similar recent Australian novels such as Joy Rhoades' The Woolgrower's Companion, Lucy Treloar's Salt Creek, Lisa Bigelow's We That Are Left, and Rosalie Ham's The Dressmaker, then this is definitely for you * Historical Novel Society *
An engaging mystery while also being an absorbing tale of family secrets, lies, betrayal and sacrifice. The story brims with authenticity that comes from painstaking research. The gradual release of information about the family combines to create a level of suspense that is sustained and that kept me guessing until the very end. I found it difficult to put down. The author knows how to keep a secret, how to pass on a secret and how - and when - to divulge a secret -- Cass Moriarty, author

About Kali Napier


KALI NAPIER worked in Bangladesh as an anthropologist on gender programs before working as an Aboriginal family history researcher for the Queensland government and as a Native Title anthropologist in the mid-west of Western Australia, the setting for THE SECRETS AT OCEAN'S EDGE. The novel was longlisted for the Bath Novel Award as was her first manuscript - also a finalist in the Hachette Australia Manuscript Development Program. Kali is currently an MPhil candidate in creative writing at the University of Queensland. She now lives in Queensland with her two children.

Additional information

GOR009710233
The Secrets at Ocean's Edge: The heart-breaking historical bestseller by Kali Napier
Kali Napier
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Little, Brown Book Group
2018-09-27
416
0349421846
9780349421841
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.