Cart
Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
Over 7 million books in stock
We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
The Winter Foundlings By Kate Rhodes

The Winter Foundlings by Kate Rhodes

Condition - Very Good
$19.49
6 in stock

Summary

Getting inside the mind of a killer isn't for the faint of heart... Alice Quentin faces her most terrifying challenge yet in this chilling novel, perfect for fans of Nicci French.

The Winter Foundlings Summary

The Winter Foundlings: Alice Quentin 3 by Kate Rhodes

The girl was lying on the steps of the Foundling Museum, dressed all in white.

Four girls have disappeared in North London. Three are already dead.

Britain's most prolific child killer, Louis Kinsella, has been locked up in Northwood high-security hospital for over a decade. Now more innocents are being slaughtered, and they all have a connection to his earlier crimes.

Psychologist Alice Quentin is doing research at Northwood. She was hoping for a break from her hectic London life, but she'll do anything to help save a child - even if it means forming a relationship with a charismatic, ruthless murderer.

But Kinsella is slow to give away his secrets, and time is running out for the latest kidnap victim, who is simply trying to survive...

The Winter Foundlings Reviews

An enjoyably scary chiller * Sunday Mirror *
An exciting story, very well told * Literary Review *
One of the most absorbing books I've read in a long time. Alice Quentin is such a warm character - unique, yet very real. I loved the sense of menace too - perfectly thrilling. -- Mel Sherratt, author of Taunting the Dead
One of those books that leaves the reader wanting more. The life of each character is so vividly painted that even those in minor roles become intriguing, and the pace never slackens from the first page to the last. -- Rachel Abbott, author of Only the Innocent
Atmospheric and suspenseful * Publishers Weekly *
Fans of the first two books starring Quentin won't be disappointed; the mood is rife with fear and sexual tension as Quentin and Burns attempt to catch a child killer before he strikes again * Library Journal *
The suspense...will have nighttime readers pushing their bedtime well past reasonable limits * Booklist *
Kate Rhodes is the queen of atmospheric suspense. Her murder mysteries are extremely creepy and intriguing. * Gumshoe Reviews *
Praise for Kate Rhodes * . *
Great twists, turns and surprises * Sun *
Alice is a vividly realised protagonist whose complex and harrowing history rivals the central crime storyline -- Sophie Hannah * Daily Express *
An utterly brilliant, exhilarating read -- Elizabeth Haynes, author of Into the Darkest Corner
A pacy psychological thriller that makes good use of its London setting -- Laura Wilson * Guardian *
A fast-moving, entertaining mix of sex, suspense and serial killings * Washington Post *
Quentin is one of a cast of really believable and entertaining characters and both the plot and the writing keep one thoroughly engaged throughout * Daily Mail *
Like Nicci French, Kate Rhodes excels at character, pace and sense of place -- Erin Kelly, author of The Poison Tree
First-rate writing * Publishers Weekly *
A terrific new heroine on the block * Woman & Home *
Page-turning -- Penny Hancock, author of Tideline

About Kate Rhodes

Kate Rhodes was born in London. She has worked as a teacher and university lecturer, and now writes full-time. Kate began her writing career as a poet, publishing two prizewinning collections. She has held a Hawthornden fellowship and been shortlisted for Forward and Bridport Prizes. She has written five novels in the Alice Quentin series, CROSSBONES YARD, A KILLING OF ANGELS, THE WINTER FOUNDLINGS, RIVER OF SOULS and BLOOD SYMMETRY, the first of which was selected by Val McDermid for the Harrogate Crime festival's New Blood panel championing new crime writers. In 2014 Kate Rhodes won the Ruth Rendell Short Story Award, sponsored by the charity InterAct. Visit her website at http://katerhodes.org or follow her on Twitter @K_RhodesWriter.

Additional information

GOR006126676
The Winter Foundlings: Alice Quentin 3 by Kate Rhodes
Used - Very Good
Hardback
Hodder & Stoughton
2014-08-14
352
1444738828
9781444738827
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - The Winter Foundlings