Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
The Comfort of Others By Kay Langdale

The Comfort of Others by Kay Langdale

Condition - Very Good
$11.99
Only 2 left

Summary

For fans of Maggie O'Farrell and The Trouble with Goats and Sheep, The Comfort of Others is a heart-breaking, thought-provoking novel from the acclaimed author Kay Langdale.

The Comfort of Others Summary

The Comfort of Others by Kay Langdale

'Reading it on the train I had to fight not to sob in public . . . Langdale is a wonderful writer' (Daily Mail on Away from You) Perfect for readers of Adele Parks and Maggie O'Farrell.

Minnie and her sister Clara, spinsters both, live in a dilapidated country house in the middle of a housing estate, built when their father sold off the family's land. Now in their seventies, their days follow a well-established routine: long gone are the garden parties, the tennis lessons and their suffocatingly strict mother. Gone, too, is any mention of what happened when Minnie was sixteen, and the secret the family buried in the grounds of their estate.

Directly opposite them lives Max, an 11-year-old whose life with his mum has changed beyond recognition since her new boyfriend arrived. Cast aside, he takes solace in Minnie's careful routine, observed through his bedroom window.

Over the course of the summer, both begin to tell their stories: Max through a Dictaphone, Minnie through a diary. As their tales intertwine, ghosts are put to rest and challenges faced, in a story that is as dark as it is uplifting.

The Comfort of Others Reviews

Hello! Book of the Week
Heartbreaking in its childlike prose and reflections on a stolen innocence, this is a slow burner that packs a punch. * The Lady *
A beautiful and insightful writer . . . I loved this book. * New Books Mag *
Warmth and affection seep into the reader's hands. * Irish Times *
In this double portrait each voice comes from a combination of speech, thought and writing for a tale of cruelty and redemption both moving and deeply satisfying. * Oxford Times *
Langdale's psychological intelligence informs every angle * The Times on AWAY FROM YOU *

About Kay Langdale

Kay Langdale is the author of six novels: The Comfort of Others, Away From You, Choose Me, Her Giant Octopus Moment, What the Heart Knows (Rowohlt, Germany) and Redemption (Transita; published as If Not Love by Thomas Dunne Books.) Visit Kay's website at www.kaylangdale.com. Follow her on Twitter: @KayLangdale.

Additional information

GOR008451334
9781473618428
1473618428
The Comfort of Others by Kay Langdale
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Hodder & Stoughton
2017-04-06
256
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - The Comfort of Others