Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
Red One By Kevin Ivison

Red One by Kevin Ivison

Condition - Like New
$13.69
Only 2 left

Summary

The bestselling true story of bomb disposal work that won Ivison a George Medal - and started a living nightmare...

Red One Summary

Red One: A Bomb Disposal Expert on the Front Line by Kevin Ivison

The British Hurt Locker. In the Iraq War, Cpt Kevin Ivison defused bombs and IEDs left by the Taliban. Each time he took the 'longest walk' to a bomb, it could have been his last. How many times can a man stare death in the face before he breaks?

Even the most skilful operators can only roll the dice so many times before they get unlucky . . . This was my bomb, my task and my fate alone. There was nothing left to do but walk.

When two of his colleagues are killed by a roadside bomb in Iraq, young bomb disposal officer Kevin Ivison is called in to defuse a second, even deadlier bomb just a hundred yards from the bodies of his friends. To make things worse, the entire area is under fire from snipers, and a crowd of angry Iraqis have begun to hurl petrol bombs...

With little chance of living through this impossible task, Kevin leaves final messages for his loved ones and sets out alone towards the bomb that he is sure will be the last thing he sees. In this gut-wrenching and terrifying true story of heroism and survival, Kevin Ivison explains why he chose to be a bomb disposal expert in the first place, how he found the courage to face his death, and the unendurable stress that has given him nightmares ever since.

An absorbing, honest, true story of life on the front lines in the Iraq War. Perfect for fans of The Hurt Locker, Sniper One and Bomb Hunters.

'The honesty with which Kevin relays his fear, his overwhelming sense that he is going to die, is impressive . . . unpretentious and accessible' Daily Telegraph

'Absorbing ... At the heart of the book is a taut, riveting account of the events of a single day - February 28, 2006 - when Ivison rushed to the scene of an IED ambush on a road known as RED ONE' - DAILY MAIL

'RED ONE is plain-spoken, heart-thumping stuff' - THE TIMES

Red One Reviews

The honesty with which Kevin relays his fear, his overwhelming sense that he is going to die, is impressive... Ivison's writing is unpretentious and accessible -- Patrick Hennessey * Daily Telegraph *
Absorbing ... At the heart of the book is a taut, riveting account of the events of a single day - February 28, 2006 - when Ivison rushed to the scene of an IED ambush on a road known as RED ONE * Daily Mail *
The chapters of RED ONE that cover the events of February 28 are as gripping, agonising and memorable as any modern military memoir * Sunday Times *
RED ONE is plain-spoken, heart-thumping stuff * The Times *
Gripping... a gifted writer as well as a genuine hero... I am humbled at what these heroes do for us all * Literary Review *
His account of life on the front lines is at times terrifying, but leavened with black humour * Good Book Guide *
Humbling, edge-of-the-sunlounger account of courage under fire. * TESCO MAGAZINE *
His account of life on the front lines is at times terrifying, but leavened with black humour. * GOOD BOOK GUIDE *

About Kevin Ivison

Captain Kevin Ivison, GM, was commissioned into the army in 2000, and served in Afghanistan, Bosnia, Kosovo, Northern Ireland and Iraq, where his work as a bomb disposal expert won him the George Medal. Since leaving the army in April 2009 he has worked for the Ministry of Defence.

Additional information

GOR011080189
9780753828304
0753828308
Red One: A Bomb Disposal Expert on the Front Line by Kevin Ivison
Used - Like New
Paperback
Orion Publishing Co
2011-07-07
272
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins

Customer Reviews - Red One