Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
The Early Birds By Laurie Graham

The Early Birds by Laurie Graham

Condition - Very Good
$20.89
Only 3 left

Summary

A poignant follow-up to The Future Homemakers of America - warm-hearted and sparklingly witty women's fiction for fans of The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood, Fannie Flagg and Anne Tyler

The Early Birds Summary

The Early Birds by Laurie Graham

'Why is Laurie Graham not carried on people's shoulders through cheering crowds? Her books are brilliant!' MARIAN KEYES

The Early Birds is the feel-good and funny follow-up to The Future Homemakers of America that proves that no matter what life throws at you, great friends and regular cocktails will always see you through.

Peggy, the southern belle. Kath, the pragmatist with the only Norfolk accent in New York state. Gayle, the preacher with healing hands. Mrs Colonel Audrey Rudman, forever keeping up the standards of the Officers' Wives Club. Lois, who's never had a thought she didn't voice. Loudly.

Their menfolk may be long retired, but once a US Air Force wife, always an Air Force wife, and the bonds of friendship forged in base after military base are still going strong fifty years later. Time is rendering its Accounts Payable for all of them now: hip replacements, eye problems, forgetfulness and departures.

In this hymn to lifelong female friendship, Peggy soldiers on through new upheavals, including her ex-husband Vern's Alzheimer's diagnosis, the death of one of her nearest and dearest, a life-changing house move and the world-shattering events of 9/11 with the help of her sharp-tongued, often eccentric, but always loyal group of friends.

The Early Birds Reviews

Please do me a personal favour and buy (and read!) both these books [Early Birds and Future Homemakers of America]. You will not regret it -- Sarra Manning * Red magazine *
This wonderful book about friendship is full of warmth, wit and winning characters * Daily Mail *
She has wit and insight to match Nick Hornby, and the entertainment value of Helen Fielding, as well as depth . . . It amounts to a picture of the way women's lives have changed, without ever sacrificing the particular to the generalisation * Independent on The Future Homemakers of America *
Superlative. The writing sparkles from first to last * Sunday Telegraph on The Future Homemakers of America *
This novel crackles with energy and snappy American dialogue. Laurie Graham conjures up five tough, funny, mouthy women, thrown together at an American airbase in Norfolk . . . Graham has pulled off an absolute triumph; the voice of her sassy narrator, the redoubtable Peggy, never falters as she unfolds 40 years of friendship * Daily Mail on The Future Homemakers of America *
Laugh-out-loud funny; intelligent; moving; has more delicious roll-off-the-tongue one-liners than Seinfeld. One of those books you buy six copies of to send to all your old friends * Scotsman on The Future Homemakers of America *
A delightfully smart and sophisticated historical novelist * Sunday Times *
One of my favourite writers -- Wendy Holden

About Laurie Graham

Laurie Graham is a former Daily Telegraph columnist and contributing editor of She magazine. The author of several acclaimed novels, most recently The Grand Duchess of Nowhere and The Night in Question (2015), Laurie lives in Dublin. Visit her website at www.lauriegraham.com

Additional information

GOR008547616
9781784297916
1784297917
The Early Birds by Laurie Graham
Used - Very Good
Hardback
Quercus Publishing
20170518
384
null null null null null null null null null null
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - The Early Birds