Free Shipping in Australia on over 5 million books in stock
Somewhere Close to Happy By Lia Louis

Somewhere Close to Happy

Used Price
$22.99
inc. GST
Free Shipping in Australia
'A thought-provoking, beautifully observed study of love and real life, social issues and mental health' - Jill Mansell. Perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern, Jojo Moyes and anyone looking for a satisfying page-turner.

Only 4 left


Somewhere Close to Happy Summary


Somewhere Close to Happy: The heart-warming, laugh-out-loud debut of the year by Lia Louis

'A wonderfully written, funny and moving debut with an intriguing mystery at its heart... Unforgettable.' - Sunday Times bestselling author, Claire Douglas

'Honest and brave, Somewhere Close to Happy is a thought-provoking, beautifully observed study of love and real life, social issues and mental health' - Jill Mansell

'Lia is one of those rare writers who manage to break your heart and mend it all at once - funny, touching and true' - Stacey Halls, bestselling author of THE FAMILIARS

Lizzie James is happy.

She has a steady office job (with a steady stream of snacks), has had the same best friend since school, and she sees her family every Thursday night for take-away and trashy TV. Lizzie likes her uncomplicated life.

Then a letter arrives one day from her first love, Roman. A letter dated the day he disappeared, 12 years before. As Lizzie uncovers the secrets of the letter, she discovers what really happened the year her life fell apart - and all avenues lead back to Roman.

Lizzie James thought she was happy, or somewhere close to happy, anyway.
Now she's not so sure.

'Lia Louis's fine debut is as layered and socially aware as it is moving and witty' - Woman Magazine

'A funny and heart-warming story of first loves and the importance of friendship, but also a moving and wise exploration of mental health, childhood, self-discovery and - ultimately - the importance of being brave.' - Sunday Times bestselling author, Gillian McAllister

Perfect for fans of Giovanna Fletcher, Mhairi McFarlane and Cecelia Ahern. This is a novel you won't soon forget.

Customer Reviews - Somewhere Close to Happy


Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Somewhere Close to Happy Reviews


This book is beautiful. The writing is generous and kind and funny. I fell in love with the story and the characters, it made me feel hopeful, and I cried. Lia is such a talented, wonderful writer. -- Hayley Webster
A wonderfully written, funny and moving debut with an intriguing mystery at its heart. I laughed, cried and was completely swept away by Lizzy and Roman's story. Unforgettable. -- Claire Douglas
I thought it was both a funny and heart-warming story... Louis's is a bold, standout voice in the women's fiction genre and Somewhere Close To Happy deserves to be huge. -- Gillian McAllister
I loved it. I want more. It is just exquisitely written. So tender and packed with emotion but also great humour. It deserves to soar. -- Claire Allan
Honest and brave, Somewhere Close to Happy is a thought-provoking, beautifully observed study of love and real life, social issues and mental health -- Jill Mansell
Oh my god, I LOVED Somewhere Close to Happy. It made me cry several times but was also really funny. It is so incredibly good. -- Laura Marshall
Beautiful, raw, emotional, gripping. Roman and Lizzie will burrow into your hearts and never leave. -- Lynsey James
Lia is one of those rare writers who manage to break your heart and mend it all at once. Somewhere Close to Happy is a gem of a book - funny, touching and true -- Stacey Halls
In her protagonist Lizzie, Lia has created a character whose journey and emotional depth is a triumph. * Woman's Weekly Fiction Special *
You'll laugh, you'll cry and you'll love this warm and tender story. -- Claire Frost * Fabulous Magazine, The Sun *
Lia Louis could give PS I Love You author Cecilia Ahern a run for her money with this funny and moving debut. * Sunday Post *
Told with warmth, this is an enjoyable, bittersweet page-turner. * Good Housekeeping *

About Lia Louis


Lia Louis is a writer from Hertfordshire where she lives with her partner and three young children. In 2015, she won ELLE magazine's annual talent competition with her contemporary love letter, #RelationshipGoals. Lia's fascination with letters doesn't stop with her writing: she also has a varied collection of old letters which are a source of inspiration to her. Somewhere Close to Happy is her first novel. Lia can be found tweeting at @LisforLia.

Additional information

GOR009866852
Somewhere Close to Happy: The heart-warming, laugh-out-loud debut of the year by Lia Louis
Lia Louis
Used - Very Good
Hardback
Orion Publishing Co
2019-06-13
336
1409184145
9781409184140
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.