Free Shipping in Australia on over 5 million books in stock
The Year the Gypsies Came By Linzi Glass

The Year the Gypsies Came

Used Price
13,69 $
inc. GST
Free Shipping in Australia
Emily Iris looks forward to the times her parents welcome house guests to their family's unhappy home. As long as the visitors are there, her mother and father will put their quarrels aside. But one spring a family of wanderers comes to stay, starting a chain of events that will shatter Emily's world forever.

Only 3 left


The Year the Gypsies Came Summary


The Year the Gypsies Came by Linzi Glass

Emily Iris looks forward to the times her parents welcome house guests to their family's unhappy home. As long as the visitors are there, her mother and father will put their quarrels aside. But one spring a family of wanderers - an Australian couple and their two boys - comes to stay, starting a chain of events that will shatter Emily's world forever. This book will appeal to readers of Jennifer Donnelly's "A Gathering Light" and Barbara Kingsolver's "The Poisonwood Bible". Presented on hardback publication, this fabulous first novel attracted stunning acclaim.

Customer Reviews - The Year the Gypsies Came


Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

The Year the Gypsies Came Reviews


Wonderful ... This is a new book with an old and wise heart. It may well have the makings of a classic Guardian Beautifully, powerfully and compellingly written ... extraordinarily moving Sunday Times Realistically evoking the perspective of a child of the era, Glass spins a lyrical story that is at once heartbreaking and hopeful Time Out This outstanding first novel arcs beautifully to its terrible climax and is deeply moving Observer Every now and then a book comes along that's unusual, compelling and deeply absorbing yet is so tragically simple, it leaves an indelible trace on the memory. The Year the Gypsies Came is one of these Irish Independent

About Linzi Glass


Linzi Glass was born in Johannesburg, South Africa, and moved to the United States as a young adult. She has published articles, and written plays, screenplays, short stories and now novels -- The Year the Gypsies Came and Ruby Red. She lives in Los Angeles with her teenage daughter, Jordan.

Additional information

GOR000926343
The Year the Gypsies Came by Linzi Glass
Linzi Glass
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Penguin Books Ltd
2007-04-05
288
0141320923
9780141320922
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.