Cart
  • Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
The Sacrifice Box By Martin Stewart

The Sacrifice Box by Martin Stewart

Condition - Like New
$13,69
Only 1 left

The Sacrifice Box Summary

The Sacrifice Box by Martin Stewart

An atmospheric, chilling page turner from rising star Martin Stewart, reminiscent of Stand by Me and Stranger Things.

Sep, Arkle, Mack, Lamb and Hadley: five friends thrown together one hot, sultry summer. When they discover an ancient stone box hidden in the forest, they decide to each make a sacrifice: something special to them, committed to the box for ever. And they make a pact: they will never return to the box at night; they'll never visit it alone; and they'll never take back their offerings.

Four years later, a series of strange and terrifying events take place. Someone broke the rules, and now everyone has to pay.

But how much are they willing to sacrifice?

The Sacrifice Box Reviews

An atmospheric coming-of-age story with brilliantly executed elements of horror and comic relief * Publishers Weekly *
Stewart is a master at weaving vivid and visceral images in the minds of his readers and this book has no shortage of truly terrifying moments that will stay with you long after you have finished it. Definitely one to read with the lights on and far away from any childhood toys * Scotsman *
From the delightfully strange imagination of Scottish writer Martin Stewart comes a creepy and engrossing horror story * Buzzfeed *
This creepy thriller is one for fans of Stephen King and Stranger Things * MTV *
The comparisons to Stranger Things are apt and well deserved. This is one of the most original and unique books I've ever read -- Katherine Webber, author of Wing Jones
An expertly written horror laced through with joyful comedy, Martin Stewart's follow-up to the award winning Riverkeep is a suspenseful and gruesome tale of friendship, family and faith - perfect for fans of Stranger Things or Stephen King * Scottish Booktrust *
Moody and atmospheric, with sardonic humor; a meaty slice of horror * Kirkus Reviews *
Stewart is masterful. He weaves a chilling, supernatural plot with a playfulness and brings the darkest chapters back from the edge. I suspect Stephen King would be impressed * Bookality *
This eldritch escapade is certainly an option for kids too old to go trick-or-treating * Wall Street Journal *

About Martin Stewart

Martin Stewart has previously worked as a recycling technician, university lecturer, barman, golf caddy, and English teacher. Having written his first book on Post-Its as an eight year-old, it was his time back in the classroom that made him understand the unique joy of writing for younger readers. A native of Glasgow, where he still lives, he enjoys buying books to feed his to-be-read pile, and combining the city's urban splendour with walks on the beaches of Scotland's west coast. Martin's first novel, Riverkeep, was longlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize. Follow him on Twitter: @martinjstewart.

Additional information

GOR010480492
9780141371610
0141371617
The Sacrifice Box by Martin Stewart
Used - Like New
Paperback
Penguin Random House Children's UK
2018-01-11
400
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins

Customer Reviews - The Sacrifice Box