Free Shipping In Australia
Currency:
AUD $ AUD
The Hazel Wood By Melissa Albert

The Hazel Wood
by Melissa Albert

In Stock
$11.49
+10% GST
N/A
11 in stock

The Hazel Wood Summary


The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert

_____

One of The Observer's Best Children's Books of 2018!

Fans of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children and The Children of Blood and Bone have been getting lost in The Hazel Wood...

"The Hazel Wood kept me up all night. I had every light burning and the covers pulled tight around me as I fell completely into the dark and beautiful world within its pages. Terrifying, magical, and surprisingly funny, it's one of the very best books I've read in years". -Jennifer Niven, author of All The Bright Places

-----

Seventeen-year-old Alice and her mother have spent most of Alice's life on the road, always a step ahead of the strange bad luck biting at their heels.

But when Alice's grandmother, the reclusive author of a book of pitch-dark fairy tales, dies alone on her estate - the Hazel Wood - Alice learns how bad her luck can really get.

Her mother is stolen, by a figure who claims to come from the cruel supernatural world from her grandmother's stories.

Alice's only lead is the message her mother left behind: STAY AWAY FROM THE HAZEL WOOD.

To retrieve her mother, Alice must venture first to the Hazel Wood, then into the world where her grandmother's tales began . . .

-----

"This book will be your next obsession. Welcome to the Hazel Wood, where bad luck is a living thing, princesses are doomed, and every page contains a wondrously terrible adventure - it's not safe inside these pages, but once you enter, you may never want to leave." - Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

"Realism and fantasy blue in this strange and bewitching tale" The Observer

Melissa Albert has created a world as dark, twisted and magical as Alice in Wonderland or Harry Potter. Will you escape the Hazel Wood?

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

The Hazel Wood Reviews


MAGICAL, MESMERISING AND INVENTIVE. -- Karen McManus, bestselling author of One of Us is Lying
The Hazel Wood kept me up all night. I had every light burning and the covers pulled tight around me as I fell completely into the dark and beautiful world within its pages. Terrifying, magical, and surprisingly funny, it's one of the very best books I've read in years. -- Jennifer Niven
Thoroughly, creepily captivating, with surprises I never saw coming! Such a refreshing and beautifully written inversion of the classic fairytale-inspired story. -- Kristin Cashore, award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of the Graceling Realm series
This book will be your next obsession. Welcome to the Hazel Wood, where bad luck is a living thing, princesses are doomed, and every page contains a wondrously terrible adventure - it's not safe inside these pages, but once you enter, you may never want to leave. -- Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of CARAVAL
A WINDING, CREEPY, INSIDIOUSLY DELICIOUS NOVEL. UTTERLY SPECTACULAR -- Melinda Salisbury, bestselling author of The Sin Eater's Daughter
THIS BOOK NEEDS A WARNING LABEL. CAUTION: SINGLE-SITTING READ. Once you start, you cannot stop. -- Alana, Goodreads Reviewer (5 stars)
If you like DARKNESS and MURDER, strong family ties and light romance, you should probably get ready for this book to mess you up in the best way possible. -- Gaby, Goodreads Reviewer (5 stars)
IMAGINE BEING ONE OF THE FIRST PEOPLE TO READ HARRY POTTER . . . That's how it feels to read The Hazel Wood in manuscript form.It's Inception + The Magicians + Alice in Wonderland + Night Film, plus humor and warmth and heart. -- Eb, Goodreads Reviewer (5 stars)
With dark fairy tale elements woven into a thrilling story, The Hazel Wood had me under its spell from beginning to end. Magic crackled on every page. -- Kate Ormand, author of The Wanderers
A beautiful, terrifying, astonishing and strange story that reads as though Angela Carter has been sucked into a Grimm fairy tale, this book is a wise and wonderful read for fairy tale fans. -- Robin Stevens, author of the Murder Most Unladylike series
A dark and magical modern take on age-old fairy tales. -- Lauren James, author of The Loneliest Girl in the Universe
A beguiling mix of contemporary thriller and dark fantasy, coupled with stylish, sharp prose, makes this a dangerously addictive debut. -- Fiona Noble * The Bookseller *
a darkly enchanting debut * Daily Mail *
Albert is a natural storyteller who writes with the confidence of an old hand * Daily Telegraph *
A bewitching, elegant blend of contemporary thriller and dark fantasy * Observer *
Simultaneously enticing and fearsome, much like the Hazel Wood of the title ... insidiously beautiful * Guardian *
This eerie debut YA novel puts such a terrifying twist on classic bedtime stories, you'll not sleep a wink. * Heat Magazine *
Bewitching * Guardian *

About Melissa Albert


Melissa Albert is the founding editor of the Barnes & Noble Teen Blog and the managing editor of BN.com. She has written for Time Out Chicago, SparkLife, MTV and McSweeney's.

Additional information

GOR008751622
The Hazel Wood by Melissa Albert
Melissa Albert
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Penguin Books Ltd
2018-01-29
368
0141388668
9780141388663
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.