Free Shipping in Australia on over 5 million books in stock
The Hangman's Hold By Michael Wood

The Hangman's Hold

Used Price
$17.49
inc. GST
Free Shipping in Australia

Your life is in his hands.

In the gripping new serial killer thriller from Michael Wood, Matilda Darke faces a vicious killer pursuing his own brand of lethal justice. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons and Helen Fields.

Only 4 left


The Hangman's Hold Summary


The Hangman's Hold (DCI Matilda Darke Thriller, Book 4) by Michael Wood

Your life is in his hands.

In the gripping new serial killer thriller from Michael Wood, Matilda Darke faces a vicious killer pursuing his own brand of lethal justice. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons and Helen Fields.

There's a killer in your house.
The Hangman waits in the darkness.

He knows your darkest secrets.
He'll make you pay for all the crimes you have tried desperately to forget.

And he is closer than you think.
DCI Matilda Darke is running out of time. Fear is spreading throughout the city. As the body count rises, Matilda is targeted and her most trusted colleagues fall under suspicion. But can she keep those closest to her from harm? Or is it already too late?

Customer Reviews - The Hangman's Hold


Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

The Hangman's Hold Reviews


`A tense, nail-biting story with a truly twisted ending' Katerina Daimond

"An established master of the serial killer novel takes us on another dangerous journey through the streets of Sheffield. Watch out for those twists - you won't see them coming!" Stephen Booth

`A gritty and atmospheric thriller with more twists and turns than a hangman's knot. I loved it' Matt Hilton

`Solid storytelling and great unravelling of plot. Michael Wood ups the pace as the noose tightens' Rachel Sargeant

`Taut, twisting and sharp as a blade, The Hangman's Hold wrong-footed me at every, devious turn' Chris Whitaker

'Wood hit the ground running with For Reasons Unknown, first in the DCI Matilda Darke series. In the fourth instalment, The Hangman's Hold, he picks up the pace again with a twisting plot that races to a nail-biting finish' Chris Simms

`Bites into you like the rough twine of a hangman's noose and refuses to let go. Tautly plotted, brilliantly realised, this is further proof that Michael Wood is only going to get better and better. The Hangman's Hold is going to be big...' Neil Broadfoot

Praise for Michael Wood:

`You can count on Michael Wood to deliver a deliciously twisted and intriguing plot, leading to a surprise ending by a likeable and very real protagonist, Matilda Darke' Yrsa Sigurdardottir

`She is the perfect heroine' Elly Griffiths

`A pitch-black concept, tightly delivered and played at exhilarating pace' Paul Finch

`Crackling dialogue, dark wit and an exciting ending. Recommended if you liked Happy Valley' Mark Edwards

`DCI Matilda Darke is going places' James Oswald

`A compelling, addictive read, it's hard to put down. I really enjoyed getting to know DCI Matilda Darke. She's strong character with real depth' Robert Bryndza, bestselling author of THE GIRL IN THE ICE

`A beautifully written book with a dark heart and a secret that impacts on generations' Sarah Ward

About Michael Wood


Michael Wood is a freelance journalist and proofreader living in Sheffield. As a journalist he has covered many crime stories throughout Sheffield, gaining first-hand knowledge of police procedure. He also reviews books for CrimeSquad, a website dedicated to crime fiction.

Additional information

GOR009862390
The Hangman's Hold (DCI Matilda Darke Thriller, Book 4) by Michael Wood
Michael Wood
DCI Matilda Darke Thriller
Used - Very Good
Paperback
HarperCollins Publishers
2018-09-20
416
0008311625
9780008311629
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.