• Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
  • Over 7 million books in stock
  • Proud to be B-Corp
  • We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
  • Over 120,000 Trustpilot reviews
Item 1 of 0
Joy By Peter Waddell

Joy by Peter Waddell

Condition - Like New
Only 1 left


The seven sacraments - baptism, confirmation, Eucharist, reconciliation, anointing, marriage and ordination - are the core of the Christian tradition. 'Joy' shows how deeply related they are to the very heart of the faith, to Jesus and to mission in the world today.

Joy Summary

Joy: The meaning of the sacraments by Peter Waddell

Sacraments are eruptions of divine joy. They happen when human actions or other signs - a word of forgiveness, a piece of bread - become the form of Jesus' action in the world today. They open up our destiny, and move us towards it. They are the ways in which Jesus lays hold of ordinary lives and ordinary things, revealing them as even now charged with the hope of glory. Yet the sacraments have been radically neglected in some areas of contemporary church life. Sometimes even the eucharist is presented as an optional extra, for old fashioned people who like religious rituals. We are spurning some of God's greatest gifts. In Joy, Peter Waddell celebrates the seven sacraments - baptism, confirmation, eucharist, marriage, ordination, reconciliation and anointing - as ways in which the joy of Jesus surges into our lives.

About Peter Waddell

Peter Waddell is the Dean of Chapel at the University of Winchester.

Additional information

Joy: The meaning of the sacraments by Peter Waddell
Used - Like New
Canterbury Press Norwich
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins

Customer Reviews - Joy