Free Shipping In Australia
Currency:
AUD $ AUD
Summer at the Cornish Cafe By Phillipa Ashley

Summer at the Cornish Cafe
by Phillipa Ashley

In Stock
$10.49
+10% GST

One summer can change everything . . .

Perfect for readers who love Debbie Johnson, Cathy Bramley and Trisha Ashley.

"Warm and funny and feel-good. The best sort of holiday read." Katie Fforde

"Filled with warm and likeable characters. Great fun!" Jill Mansell

13 in stock

Summer at the Cornish Cafe Summary


Summer at the Cornish Cafe (The Cornish Cafe Series, Book 1) by Phillipa Ashley

One summer can change everything . . .

Perfect for readers who love Debbie Johnson, Cathy Bramley and Trisha Ashley.

"Warm and funny and feel-good. The best sort of holiday read." Katie Fforde

"Filled with warm and likeable characters. Great fun!" Jill Mansell

Demi doesn't expect her summer in Cornwall to hold anything out of the ordinary. As a waitress, working all hours to make ends meet, washing dishes and serving ice creams seems to be as exciting as the holiday season is about to get.

That's until she meets Cal Penwith. An outsider, like herself, Cal is persuaded to let Demi help him renovate his holiday resort, Kilhallon Park. Set above an idyllic Cornish cove, the once popular destination for tourists has now gone to rack and ruin. During the course of the Cornish summer, Demi makes new friends - and foes - as she helps the dashing and often infuriating Cal in his quest. Working side by side, the pair grow close, but Cal has complications in his past which make Demi wonder if he could ever truly be interested in her.

Demi realises that she has finally found a place she can call home. But as the summer draws to a close, and Demi's own reputation as an up and coming cafe owner starts to spread, she is faced with a tough decision . . .

A gorgeous story exploring new beginnings, new love and new opportunities, set against the stunning background of the Cornish coast - starring a feisty, compelling heroine who leaps off the page and encourages you to live your summer to the full.

If you loved Summer at the Cornish Cafe, don't miss the next in the Penwith Trilogy, Christmas at the Cornish Cafe!

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Summer at the Cornish Cafe Reviews


"Warm and funny and feel-good. The best sort of holiday read." Katie Fforde

"Filled with warm and likeable characters. Great fun!" Jill Mansell

"An utterly glorious, escapist read from a one of the freshest voices to emerge in women's fiction today. I loved every gorgeous page." Claudia Carroll

"A deliciously entertaining twist on the Poldark tale."
Liz Fenwick

"A glorious, tantalising taste of Cornwall, I could almost taste the salt of the sea air as I read it." Jules Wake

"Made me want to run away to the Cornish coast immediately! Lovely, romantic summery escapism. Loved it!" Lorelei Mathias

"You can't help but fall in love with the characters in this book. With its determined heroine and smouldering Poldark-alike this sweeping love story grips you and doesn't let go until the very last page." Helen Cox

"Summer at the Cornish Cafe hooked me right from the start, I ended up reading it in a day as I couldn't put it down. The first book in a very long time that has made me just curl up with a cuppa and lose myself in the pages. If you love Cornwall, you'll love this book." A Cornish Mum

"Phillipa Ashley is without doubt a very accomplished writer and the picture she paints of St Trenyan enthrals the reader and makes you want to book your own holiday to Kilhallon Park. The story expertly switches between the two lead character viewpoints giving you both sides of the story. The backgrounds of the characters are beautifully told as the story that brings them together unfolds. Add in some wonderfully eccentric locals, the perfect modern villain in Mawgan Cade and a special little dog called Mitch and you have yourself a terrific cast. Summer at the Cornish Cafe is a perfect summer read for the beach wherever you take your holiday but chances are if you read this first you'll want to be heading to Cornwall!" Bella Osborne

"Ashley's writing is deft, sexy, and full of humour." Trashionista.com

About Phillipa Ashley


Phillipa Ashley writes warm, funny romantic fiction for a variety of world-famous international publishers.

After studying English at Oxford, she worked as a copywriter and journalist. Her first novel, Decent Exposure, won the RNA New Writers Award and was made into a TV movie called 12 Men of Christmas starring Kristin Chenoweth and Josh Hopkins. As Pippa Croft, she also wrote the Oxford Blue series - The First Time We Met, The Second Time I Saw You and Third Time Lucky.

Phillipa lives in a Staffordshire village and has an engineer husband and scientist daughter who indulge her arty whims. She runs a holiday-let business in the Lake District, but a big part of her heart belongs to Cornwall. She visits the county several times a year for `research purposes', an arduous task that involves sampling cream teas, swimming in wild Cornish coves and following actors around film shoots in a camper van. Her hobbies include watching Poldark, Earl Grey tea, Prosecco-tasting and falling off surf boards in front of RNLI lifeguards.

Additional information

GOR008288415
Summer at the Cornish Cafe (The Cornish Cafe Series, Book 1) by Phillipa Ashley
Phillipa Ashley
Used - Very Good
Paperback
HarperCollins Publishers
2017-03-09
320
0008248303
9780008248307
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.