Free Shipping in Australia on over 5 million books in stock
Sir Walter Raleigh By Raleigh Trevelyan

Sir Walter Raleigh

In Stock
inc. GST
Sir Walter Raleigh is one of England's most heroic and legendary figures. For this biography the author has travelled to each of the principal places which Raleigh visited, where he has found new insights into Raleigh's life.
Only 2 left

Sir Walter Raleigh Summary

Sir Walter Raleigh by Raleigh Trevelyan

Soldier, explorer, scholar and ambitious courtier in the shark-pool of Elizabethan politics, Sir Walter Raleigh is the epitome of the English Renaissance man. Yet to many of his day he was an arrogant liar, who deserved every one of his 13 years in the Tower of London. To a vain and ageing Queen, he was the betrayer of her affections. And to the Spanish, he was the most hated of pirates. Was Sir Walter Raleigh a hero - or a deceiver, terrorist and ruthless adventurer? What caused his rising star to fall so dramatically, ending with his execution in 1618? And what was the truth behind his tempestuous relationship with Elizabeth, "dear Empress of my heart"? Raleigh Travelyan reveals the truth in this portrait of one of the most charismatic, romantic and misunderstood figures of the Elizabethan age.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

About Raleigh Trevelyan

Raleigh Trevelyan is a distinguished writer whose previous works include Rome '44: The Battle for the Eternal City, The Golden Oriole, The Shadow of Vesuvius, and A Hermit Disclosed.

Table of Contents

Family and childhood; with the Huguenots - 1568-72; desirous of honour - 1572-9; foothold at court - 1580; Ireland - 1580-81; a kind of oracle - 1582-3; grandeur at Durham House - 1583; the first Virginia voyage - 1584; the Roanoke Fort - 1585; El Draque - 1586; more riches - 1586-7; a competition of love - 1587; Armada - 1588; two shepherds meet - 1589; the lost colonists - 1590; Grenville of the Revenge - 1591; scandal and the tower - 1592; the school of night - 1593; the mind in searching - 1594; arrival at Trinidad - 1595; Guiana - 1595; Drake's last voyage - 1595; no forgiveness yet - 1596; Cadiz - 1596; an uneasy triumvirate - 1597; the islands voyage - 1597; crisis in Ireland - 1598; age like winter weather - 1599; rage and rebellion - 1600; Machiavelli and parliament - 1601; malice and betrayal - 1602; the main and the bye - 1603; the trail - 1603; waiting for the end - 1603; life in the Bloody Tower - 1604; friendship with the Prince - 1605-7; the great history - 1608-9; O eloquent, just and mighty death! - 1610-12; the Overbury affair - 1613-15; release - 1616; aboard the destiny - 1617; chronicle of death - 1617; "My Brains are Broken" - 1618; "Piratas! Piratas!" - 1618; cold walls again - 1618; even such is time - 1618; afterwards.

Additional information

Sir Walter Raleigh by Raleigh Trevelyan
Raleigh Trevelyan
Used - Very Good
Penguin Books Ltd
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.