Cart
Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
Over 7 million books in stock
We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
Agnomia By Robert Gal

Agnomia by Robert Gal

Condition - Very Good
$11.99
Out of stock

Agnomia Summary

Agnomia by Robert Gal

In this miniature masterpiece, Robert Gal--whom Joshua Cohen has called "a phenomenon"--conducts a noble experiment in uncategorizable prose. One long, unbroken paragraph, blending memoir, fiction, and philosophy, Agnomia takes the reader on a transcontinental journey from Lower Manhattan to the Little Quarter of Prague, but most of all it takes the reader on a tour of the writer's mind. Meditations on tautology, sexuality, and art culminate in an attentive evocation of a concert given by the composer and saxophonist John Zorn. For readers of Thomas Bernhard, Georges Bataille, and E. M. Cioran, Agnomia is a book to relish.

Agnomia Reviews

"Gal is a phenomenon unto himself: a purveyor of neurotic philosophy encapsulated in elliptical portents and epifragmentals, the content of which is at all odds with their length."--Joshua Cohen
"Gal's aphorisms combine incisive question-raising and gently troubling images involving Time, God... and existential self-awareness."--Antioch Review
"In our millennium, a time of reduction and minimization, the aphorism has rightly returned. Its master is Robert Gal."--The Forward
"The Czech Cioran . . ."--Andrei Codrescu

About Robert Gal

Robert Gal was born in Bratislava, Slovakia, in 1968. After living in Brno, New York, Jerusalem, and Berlin, among other places, he now resides in Prague. In his books of aphorisms and fiction, he has shown himself to be one of the major Slovakian writers of the twenty-first century. His book of aphorisms On Wing was published by Dalkey Archive Press in 2015.

Additional information

GOR010574547
Agnomia by Robert Gal
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Dalkey Archive Press
2018-10-30
272
1628972793
9781628972795
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us

Customer Reviews - Agnomia