Cart
Free Shipping on all orders in Australia
Over 7 million books in stock
We aim to be carbon neutral by 2022
The Sari Shop By Rupa Bajwa

The Sari Shop by Rupa Bajwa

Condition - Like New
$15.49
Only 2 left

Summary

Ramchand, a young man living in a small, north Indian town, works each day at Sevak Sari House. Amongst the cotton and silks, he and his fellow shop assistants sit, unrolling yards of coloured fabric for the town's middle class wives and daughters and speculate on their own futures.

The Sari Shop Summary

The Sari Shop by Rupa Bajwa

A heartbreaking debut in the tradition of Rohinton Mistry and Manil Suri. Ramchand, a young man living in a small, north Indian town, works each day at Sevak Sari House in one of the city's bazaars. Amongst the cottons and Benaras silks he and his fellow shop assistants sit, unrolling yards of coloured fabric for the town's middle class wives and daughters. When Ramchand peers into the lives of his customers he begins to see himself more clearly, and the limits of his future. But his attempts to change his life will uncover the horrifying cruelties that have been holding it together. Bajwa combines a rare sensitivity with humour and unflinching honesty as she reveals a world where hope and violence are permanently entwined.

About Rupa Bajwa

Rupa Bajwa was born in Amritsar, north India, in 1976. She currently lives in Amritsar. The Sari Shop is her first novel.

Additional information

GOR011126565
9780670914722
067091472X
The Sari Shop by Rupa Bajwa
Used - Like New
Hardback
Penguin Books Ltd
2004-03-04
256
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read, but looks new. The book cover has no visible wear, and the dust jacket is included if applicable. No missing or damaged pages, no tears, possible very minimal creasing, no underlining or highlighting of text, and no writing in the margins

Customer Reviews - The Sari Shop