Free Shipping in Australia on over 5 million books in stock
Mouths of Babes By Stella Duffy

Mouths of Babes

Used Price
$17.49
inc. GST
Free Shipping in Australia
This is a complex, beautifully written book, dealing with the ways in which we survive childhood, and those who fall by the way. It's illuminating on bullying and the strategems both victims and bullies use to get by, and the compromises we make to become the adults we want to be. Fast-paced, intelligent and mesmerising.

Only 1 left


Mouths of Babes Summary


Mouths of Babes by Stella Duffy

Saz Martin is settled into new motherhood with her partner Molly and their nine-month-old daughter Matilda. Things have not been easy since the birth - late nights, early mornings, and a sudden death have all taken their toll - but with Molly?s return to full time work and Saz happily taking on the role of Matilda?s prime carer, both women feel they are finally adjusting to parenthood and the demands of their new life. And then the phone rings. The door knocks. A well-known stranger arrives. Instead of moving forward into her role as a full time mother, Saz is forced to face her past, confronting people and events she had long ago hoped to forget. In a story of how the sins of our past always come back to haunt us, Stella Duffy reveals secrets no-one knew about Saz Martin, explores why Saz is who she is, and asks is it still possible to believe in our heroes ? and our lovers ? when their flaws are well and truly exposed?

Customer Reviews - Mouths of Babes


Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Mouths of Babes Reviews


?This is a darkly fascinating novel, with bold narrative techniques, spiky, unsettling prose and risky shifts in viewpoint? an exceptional novel. Don?t miss it.? Shots Magazine (June 2005) 'She also displays a formidable range of narrative techniques, changing perspectives and launching into flashbacks with the kind of brio that most crime writers seem to shun. But this book shouldn?t just be seen as a great piece of crime writing; it?s a fine novel, as good as anything you?ll read this year from a ?literary? imprint? Independent on Sunday ?An unsettling, absorbing read? The Times ?Fans of Saz Martin, Duffy?s feisty gay private investigator, will welcome her return after an absence of five years? Duffy knows how to build suspense and has created an engagingly human heroine? Daily Mail ?A compelling thriller of skilled prose and satiating suspense? Dazed & Confused ?An astute, assured and involving novel? Fans will not be disappointed? Diva ?Fast-paced, candid and compulsive, Stella Duffy has written an intelligent thriller that lays bare the callous motives of human behaviour? Attitude ?A compelling read that will satisfy established Saz Martin fans and new readers alike? The Crack

About Stella Duffy


Born in London and raised in New Zealand, Stella Duffy is the author of ten novels, over thirty stories, and eight plays. Her novel State of Happiness was longlisted for the 2004 Orange Prize, and she is currently writing the screenplay adaptation for the feature film production. With Lauren Henderson she co-edited the anthology Tart Noir, from which her story Martha Grace won the 2002 CWA Short Story Award. She has appeared on BBC Radio 4, in sitcoms, plays and quizzes, and is a performer with comedy company Spontaneous Combustion and theatre company Improbable. She is an occasional guest with the Comedy Store Players.

Additional information

GOR001674942
Mouths of Babes by Stella Duffy
Stella Duffy
Used - Good
Paperback
Profile Books Ltd
2005-07-21
256
1852428570
9781852428570
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact and the cover is intact. Some minor wear to the spine.