Free Shipping In Australia
Stiltsville By Susanna Daniel

Stiltsville
by Susanna Daniel

Out of Stock
$22.49
inc. GST
Originally published: New York: HarperCollins, 2010.
Only 0 left

Stiltsville Summary


Stiltsville: A Novel by Susanna Daniel

"A wise and loving portrait of a marriage...Susanna Daniel writes beautifully of matters of the heart." - Jennifer Haigh, author of The Condition Against a vivid South Florida background, Susanna Daniel's Stiltsville offers a gripping, bittersweet portrait of a marriage-and a romance-that deepens over the course of three decades. Called "an elegantly crafted work of art and a great read" by Curtis Sittenfeld (American Wife, Prep) Stiltsville is a stunningly assured debut novel sure to appeal to readers of Anita Shreve, Sue Miller, and Annie Dillard, or anyone enchanted by the sultry magic of Miami.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Stiltsville Reviews


"I fell in love with Susanna Daniel's characters, Dennis and Frances. The dialogue, the pacing, and the tenderness between this married couple is so authentic and true. But it's the setting of Florida, and especially the place that is Stiltsville, that literally elevates this story to magic." -- Hannah Tinti, author of The Good Thief "This soulful novel will inspire you to reflect on your own definitions of house, home, and what really makes a couple close." -- Redbook "Both structurally and in tone, the book recalls linked short-story collections such as Alice Munro's The Beggar Maid, following one character chronologically through a long period. Each piece can stand alone, but the whole is enriched when they are read together... Lovely." -- Laura C.J. Owen, Minneapolis Star Tribune "A quietly remarkable novel... Reminiscent of Marilynn Robinson's Home." -- Scott Eyman, Palm Beach Post "A deeply engrossing tale of love, family, friendship, and motherhood, Stiltsville is both an elegantly crafted work of art and a great read. The love story effortlessly spans decades, and the characters are as real and vivid as the novel's South Florida backdrop. Susanna Daniel is an extraordinary writer." -- Curtis Sittenfeld, author of Prep and American Wife "Set against the wild and changeable landscape of South Florida, Stiltsville is a wise and loving portrait of a marriage, written with keen insight into the ways two lives grow together over the years. This is a rare first novel. Susanna Daniel writes beautifully of matters of the heart." -- Jennifer Haigh, author of The Condition, Baker Towers, and Mrs. Kimble "In this wise and luminous novel, Susanna Daniel does something truly rare: she creates characters so real that you feel they've entered the very room where you sit reading. Before you know it, they've also entered your heart, and are breaking it... A work of tremendous maturity, empathy and humanity." -- Dani Shapiro, author of Devotion and Black and White "I fell in love in the opening pages of Stiltsville. There was nothing I wanted more than to spend time in the company of these vivid characters and keep reading Susanna Daniel's lovely, lucid prose." -- Margot Livesey, author of The House on Fortune Street

About Susanna Daniel


Susanna Daniel was born and raised in Miami, Florida. Her first novel, Stiltsville, was awarded the PEN/Bingham prize for debut fiction. She is a graduate of Columbia University and the Iowa Writers' Workshop, and lives in Madison, Wisconsin.

Additional information

GOR005284657
Stiltsville: A Novel by Susanna Daniel
Susanna Daniel
Used - Very Good
Paperback
HarperCollins Publishers Inc
2011-06-28
336
0061963089
9780061963087
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.