Free Shipping In Australia
Currency:
AUD $ AUD
Seven Pillars of Wisdom By T. E. Lawrence

Seven Pillars of Wisdom
by T. E. Lawrence

Written between 1919 and 1926, this text tells of the campaign aganist the Turks in the Middle East, encompassing gross acts of cruelty and revenge, ending in a welter of stink and corpses in a Damascus hospital.

11 in stock

Seven Pillars of Wisdom Summary


<p><strong>With an Introduction by Angus Calder.</strong></p> <p>As Angus Calder states in his introduction to this edition, '<em>Seven Pillars of Wisdom</em> is one of the major statements about the fighting experience of the First World War'. Lawrence's younger brothers, Frank and Will, had been killed on the Western Front in 1915. <em>Seven Pillars of Wisdom,</em> written between 1919 and 1926, tells of the vastly different campaign against the Turks in the Middle East - one which encompasses gross acts of cruelty and revenge and ends in a welter of stink and corpses in the disgusting 'hospital' in Damascus.</p> <p><em>Seven Pillars of Wisdom</em> is no <em>Boys Own Paper</em> tale of Imperial triumph, but a complex work of high literary aspiration which stands in the tradition of Melville and Dostoevsky, and alongside the writings of Yeats, Eliot and Joyce.</p>

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

Additional information

GOR001432741
Seven Pillars of Wisdom
T. E. Lawrence
Used - Well Read
Paperback
Wordsworth Editions Ltd
1996-05-07
704
1853264695
9781853264696
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book. We do our best to provide good quality books for you to read, but there is no escaping the fact that it has been owned and read by someone else previously. Therefore it will show signs of wear and may be an ex library book.