Free Shipping in Australia on over 5 million books in stock
The House at Silvermoor By Tracy Rees

The House at Silvermoor

Used Price
$18.49
inc. GST
Free Shipping in Australia
The fifth novel from the author of the Richard and Judy bestseller Amy Snow. Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Dinah Jefferies

21 in stock


The House at Silvermoor Summary


The House at Silvermoor by Tracy Rees

'A tenderly evoked and compelling read. The House at Silvermoor deserves to be a huge success' Rachel Hore, author of The Love Child

'I loved The House at Silvermoor. Tracy's writing is always so warm and the story is both romantic and compelling' Rosanna Ley, author of The Lemon Tree Hotel

England, 1899. A new century is dawning, and two young friends are about to enter into a world of money, privilege and family secrets...
Josie has never questioned her life in a South Yorkshire mining village. But everything changes when she meets Tommy from the neighbouring village. Tommy has been destined for a life underground since the moment he was born. But he has far bigger dreams for his future.
United by their desire for something better and by their fascination with the local gentry, Josie and Tommy become fast friends. Wealthy and glamorous, the Sedgewicks of Silvermoor inhabit a world that is utterly forbidden to Tommy and Josie. Yet as the new century arrives, the pair become entangled with the grand family, and discover a long hidden secret. Will everything change as they all step forward into the new dawn...?

'I adore Tracy's writing and have from the moment I read Amy Snow when it first came out. The House at Silvermoor is a sweeping saga full of likeable characters. What a joy to read!' Lorna Cook, author of The Forgotten Village

'Tracy Rees has a rare gift for making us care about her characters from the very first pages. I rushed to pick up my copy in any spare moments, because I needed to know what would happen next. It's a compassionate and compelling novel, with a heart-warming love story at its core' Gill Paul, author of The Lost Daughter

'A rich, riveting and romantic read' Joanna Courtney, author of Blood Queen

Customer Reviews - The House at Silvermoor


Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

The House at Silvermoor Reviews


The gorgeous, evocative cover promises much, the rich narrative within delivers more. Tracy Rees writes from the heart and with an obvious passion for her characters. With this, her third novel, her reputation as a writer who never disappoints, is sealed * Kathryn Hughes, bestselling author of The Letter *
I loved the evocative atmosphere of the 20's, the lovely characters and gorgeous descriptions of nature/turning of the seasons -- Lucinda Riley * bestselling author of The Pearl Sister *
This atmospheric tale of friendship, love and family secrets is beautifully told and paints an evocative picture of the stark reality of life at the coalface * My Weekly *
Tracy Rees is the most outstanding new voice in historical fiction * Lucinda Riley, bestselling author *
Tracy's meticulous research and lavish prose provide the reader with the complete experience. From the intriguing premise, I was caught up in the lives of these three women and invested in their stories. Tracy's depiction of life in Richmond in the twenties was spot on and added depth to this glorious novel -- Kathryn Hughes * bestselling author of The Letter *
Atmospheric and elegantly written, The Hourglass is an evocative story of 1950's Wales, filled with the in-depth historical detail that has become Tracy Rees's trademark * Lucinda Riley *
Florence is such a strong, intriguing character and the plot is so clever, real and truthful. The whole book feels so very wise, as if it contains half the answers to life * Joanna Courtney, author of The Chosen Queen *
A lovely, tender, enjoyable mystery. It made me want to visit Tenby. -- Rachel Hore
The Hourglass is a beautifully-crafted tale of the ebb and flow of love and friendship. Rees has skilfully interwoven all the joy and pain that comes with families, friends and lovers into a multi-layered story that won't let you go. Bittersweet, compelling and utterly engrossing, I couldn't put it down * Karen Swan, bestselling author of Christmas at Tiffany's *
I love Tracy's writing; it's full of colour and atmosphere, with sparkly dialogue and just the right pace to keep you turning the pages -- Gill Paul * author of Another Woman's Husband *
An enjoyable and intriguing read * Trisha Ashley *
Darling Blue is a clever book that's a joy to read ... the drama rises by subtle, tiny increments until, at its climax, you have to remind yourself to breathe. These three women will stay with you for a long, long time -- Claire Dyer * author of The Last Day *
A sparkling and compelling mystery . . . captured our hearts from the very first page * Richard and Judy on Amy Snow *
Emotionally resonating. I loved this book's strong sense of time and place * Leah Fleming *
Completely delightful, I loved it and the 1920s setting is sublime. Tracy writes with a warmth and authenticity that draws her readers into the delicious world she has created. -- Rosanna Ley * author of Her Mother's Secret *
Tracy's writing is so fresh, original and authentic * Rosanna Ley *
I thoroughly enjoyed escaping into the delicious effervescent world of Richmond in the 1920s. Tracy has such a lovely turn of phrase. Full of vitality and warmth, Darling Blue is delightful -- Tor Udall
Tracy Rees describes brilliantly the feeling of being on the cusp between childhood and adulthood, with all its confusions and curiosity. I loved the strong sense of place, as well as the description of the way emotional damage can be passed down through the generations. It's an engrossing read that makes you want to rush to the nearest beach, drink hot chocolate and eat a lot of cake! * Gill Paul, bestselling author of The Secret Wife *
It's a simply glorious read, one of the best books I've read in a very long time. Tracy's writing is so deep and wise and true. It captured me from the first word ... a truly stunning novel -- Nicola Cornick * author of House of Shadows *
I can honestly say The Hourglass is one of the best books I have read in a very long time. I've been thinking about it ever since! Tracy writes so very beautifully and lyrically, conjuring up such a strong atmosphere and sense of place. Her characters have wonderful depth and richness, and the whole story felt so wise, poignant and uplifting. I loved it! A beautiful story, so atmospheric and vivid, elegantly told * Nicola Cornick *
I absolutely loved The Hourglass. With its wonderful characters, moving storyline, and gorgeous, evocative setting in coastal Wales, it bursts with warmth on every page. It's the perfect, lose-yourself and curl up for hours read. I felt bereft when I finished! * Jenny Ashcroft, author of Beneath a Burning Sky *
This moving tale has warmth and wisdom galore, and shows it's never too late for new beginnings * Psychologies *
The characters are so evocative and the descriptions of Tenby give it the starring role * Woman *
[Tracy Rees] has a wonderful way of making you feel that you're 'there' in her writing, whether 'there' is a desolate moor in the 1700s or a sunny beach in 1950s * One More Page *
Descriptive, mysterious and romantic * My Weekly *
Once again I found myself drawn in to Tracy Rees's wonderful story telling so that I set aside daily life until I'd devoured every word * Linda's Book Bag *
[Tracy Rees] has a gift for creating powerful and distinct character voices...Well plotted and well written, The Hourglass will make a wonderful summer read for fans of Lucinda Riley, Rosanna Ley, Rachel Hore or Jojo Moyes * Historical Novel Reviews *
Rees is an elegant and intelligent writer with the gift to imbue her enchanting novels with vivid, well-drawn characters, rich historical detail, emotional wisdom and a wonderfully authentic sense of time and place * Chorley Guardian *
Be prepared to lose yourself in this evocative tale * Candis *
With rich period detail, it's a delight as the romance and mystery whisk you away * Sunday Mirror *
rip-roaring historical romance that's part Downton Abbey and part North & South...Just what we need in these terrifying times * Sunday Business Post *
[A] thoughtful character-driven story...evocative mystery * Woman's Weekly *
There are twists and turns aplenty to keep readers entertained * Sunday Business Post *
This atmospheric tale of friendship, love and family secrets is beautifully told and paints an evocative picture of the stark reality of life at the coalface * My Weekly *
A compelling mystery with vivid historical detail * Woman *

About Tracy Rees


Tracy Rees was born in South Wales. A Cambridge graduate, she had a successful eight-year career in nonfiction publishing and a second career practising and teaching humanistic counselling. She was the winner of the Richard and Judy Search for a Bestseller Competition and the 2015 LoveStories 'Best Historical Read' award.

Additional information

GOR010522118
The House at Silvermoor by Tracy Rees
Tracy Rees
Used - Very Good
Paperback
Quercus Publishing
2020-04-02
496
1786486709
9781786486707
N/A
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
This is a used book - there is no escaping the fact it has been read by someone else and it will show signs of wear and previous use. Overall we expect it to be in very good condition, but if you are not entirely satisfied please get in touch with us.