Free Shipping In Australia
The Hiding Place By Trezza Azzopardi

The Hiding Place
by Trezza Azzopardi

Out of Stock
$15.49
inc. GST
This is the default conversion keynote text and should be changed.
Only 0 left

The Hiding Place Summary


The Hiding Place by Trezza Azzopardi

A gripping and vivid novel of childhood and family feuding in the tradition of Kate Atkinson and Seamus Deane'Vivid, moving, alive: The Hiding Place opens up ordinary-looking doors to let us into an intense and brilliantly foreign world' Andrea AshworthThis brilliant first novel is set in the Maltese community of Tiger Bay in Cardiff where the author grew up. Dolores, the narrator tells the story of her childhood - her father, Frankie, a compulsive gambler who, due to a misunderstanding at the moment of her birth (he is convinced that his wife will finally give birth to a boy after a multitude of daughters) loses everthing to his rival Joe Medora, head of the Maltese Mafia. Frankie's gambling leads to the fire which disfigures Dolores. There is a terrifyingly vivid scene as Dolores remembers watching her hand being burnt in the fire that destroys their home and the moment when Joe claims one of Frankie's daughters as his own. The author evokes the world of Dolores and her family with brilliant power and sensitivity. The novel flits between past and present as Dolores reflects on her childhood and the lives that her father created for himself and his children.This is a compelling and moving story of a world that has rarely, if ever, been described in fiction. Azzoparrdi is a very exciting and original new voice on the Picador list.

Why buy from World of Books

Our excellent value books literally don't cost the earth
Free delivery in Australia
Read more here
Every used book bought is one saved from landfill

About Trezza Azzopardi


Trezza Azzopardi was born in Cardiff and lives in Norwich. She is the author of The Song House, Remember Me, and The Hiding Place, which was shortlisted for the Booker Prize in 2000.

Additional information

GOR007219927
The Hiding Place by Trezza Azzopardi
Trezza Azzopardi
Used - Good
Hardback
Pan Macmillan
2000-08-25
288
0330390759
9780330390750
Winner of Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize 2002 (UK) Short-listed for Man Booker Prize 2000 (UK) Long-listed for Guardian First Book Award 2000 (UK) Long-listed for Orange Prize for Fiction 2001 (UK)
Book picture is for illustrative purposes only, actual binding, cover or edition may vary.
The book has been read but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact and the cover is intact. Some minor wear to the spine.